God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Religious Objects In Our Home


My 68 year old painting of St. John Bosco.  A gift from one of  my students at Maryville

My 68 year old painting of
St. John Bosco. A gift from one of
my students at Maryville

When I was in 5th Grade at St. Theodore’s School, our Holy Cross nun gave me a small crucifix about five inches long.  It stayed with me for many years to give me inspiration in times of temptations to evil.  A large size crucifix or cross would add to the holy atmosphere of our homes.  We could look to what our Lord had suffered for each one of us.  In our difficult days new courage would fill our hearts.  I am now looking at a small crucifix on my desk and praying that I use my hands and feet in a holy way.

Everyone in our home should own a rosary and carry it at all times.  In case of an accident, hospital personnel would know that this is a Catholic person.  Mother Teresa of Calcutta carried her rosary in her hand as she went about her holy works in the streets.  People can split up praying of the beads with a decade here and a decade there throughout the day.  Some in the family may spend a long time in going to and from school or work.  These could be good times to recite the Hail Mary.  While praying each decade, one can think of any incident in the life of Christ.

About an hour ago, I said my rosary in my mid-day Holy Hour in the little Chapel here at our residence.  The words . . . “pray for us sinners now and at the hour of our death, Amen” meant so much to me.

A home would be blessed to have a large sized Bible placed in a prominent place, opened to the Proverbs.  As family members leave home for school, work or shopping they could read one or two of the Proverbs for inspiration.  As children leave home for marriage or other reasons, parents would do well to give the gift of a large Bible, a Crucifix too maybe.

Pictures or statues of Christ, Our Lady and the Saints prove to be valuable help in bringing holiness to a home.  In my first appointment at Maryville, home for 850 dependent children, one of the High School students painted an oil drawing for me of St. John Bosco, the Apostle of Youth.  This gift still hangs in my study – 68 years later – always an inspiration for me to be a priest like John Bosco.

We can be agents for good by encouraging others to make their homes holy and God-filled.

For those in the Chicagoland area, I find that a good store is Heaven Sent, 12327 S. Harlem Ave. Palos Heights. 708.422.7739

                        Fr. George Mc Kenna

August 11, 2013 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Fr. George you inspire us to “redecorate” our living space…keeping Christ, Our Lady and the saints close in thought & prayer…allowing us and all who enter our homes to draw closer and closer to them all the days of our life…thank you forever for encouraging us to do more and more each day! God’s Blessings, Love and Grace, Marianne

    Comment by mcs | August 11, 2013 | Reply

  2. Hi Fr. George,
    What a blessing you are to continue your work of tending to your ‘flock’ via your blog! I love you, Fr. George! I am so touched by your personal stories, and as usual, I can picture you in them; as a 5th grader, getting your crucifix and keeping it close to you all these years. as a counselor for all those young people!

    In my guest bedroom, I have a very nice table next to the bed with pictures of Christ that were my mother’s and a very small crucifix. I also have a beautiful ceramic statue of Mary that my mom’s friend, Midge, painted for her. Mary is wearing a crown with small glass stones, signifying – on her head, a crown of twelve stars. She holds the infant Jesus in her arms. And I do carry my Rosary with me – and a wonderful ‘app’ on my phone, called Laudate (it is free!) which has the Rosary, the Divine Mercy chaplet, and many prayers, plus the entire bible. Oh, the wonders of technology! I very often pray the Rosary when I am driving to church. It centers my mind for the upcoming mass. Today two little babies were baptized during Mass – Leonardo and David. It made me realize how fortunate I am for the gift of faith – and so thankful to my mother for raising me as a Catholic and helping me realize the importance of God in my life. I pray for you daily, Fr. George and will write to you soon! God’s blessings for you! Love, Nancy

    Comment by Nancy Westvang | August 11, 2013 | Reply

  3. Thank you so much Fr George for this inspriing post! I just came across this blog today. I was searching for a store to buy a large crucifix for my new house. It seems impossible to buy a large Crucifix in Northern Ireland. I am wanting a 4 foot one. Please can you remember my search in your prayers and I too will be praying for you. Very glad to have come across you and delighted to hear of your beautiful life! Our Lady of Knock, Queen of Ireland bless you! xxx 🙂

    Comment by sabrina | August 12, 2013 | Reply

  4. when were you assigned to Maryville?  I am an Alumni….

    Comment by durantefs@comcast.net | August 24, 2013 | Reply

    • I started in Maryville when I was ordained; it was my first assignment in 1944, and stayed their 5 years until 1949 when I was assigned to Quigley.

      Comment by Fr. George McKenna | August 25, 2013 | Reply

  5. Dear Father McKenna,
    I was a freshman in your algebra class in 1954 and remember fondly putting your Don Bosco sayings on the blackboard. I often think of those sayings and your talking of Dominic Savio. They helped at different points in my life. Last Sunday I was at Holy Name Cathedral to celebrate 50 years of marriage and walked by Quigley. It brought back a lot great memories of the four years I was there. God bless you.

    Comment by John P. Forbes | September 25, 2013 | Reply

  6. I RECEIVE YOUR E-MAIL ON A REGULAR BASIS.  tHANK YOU  FOR THE WORDS OF ENCOURAGEMENT AND WISDOM.  I WAS A STUDENT OUT AT MARYVILLE ACADEMY IN MY YOUTH….IT IS ALWAYS NICE TO CONNECT WITH OTHERS FROM SIMILIAR ORIGINS EVEN IF I NEVER HAD MET THEM.

    Comment by durantefs@comcast.net | November 16, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

