God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

I Fell Twice On The Way Of The Cross


In His torturous walk to Golgotha, Jesus fell three times.  Each time someone helped Him to rise and continue on.  Simon of Cyrene picked up the Cross and eased its weight on the shoulders of Christ.  Another helper, Veronica, wiped his brutalized face with her towel.  She didn’t know Him but only saw a man in need of help.

Saint Veronica, by Hans Memling Via Wikipedia

Saint Veronica, by Hans Memling
Via Wikipedia

My first fall took place in the Tomb of Christ in the Church of the Holy Sepulcher.  Only five people can fit into the small chapel of the tomb.  Because of a lack of oxygen, I slumped to the floor in a faint.  With much care, my friends carried me out to fresh air.  On my way back to my Residence, my second fall happened at the V Station.  I hit the street suddenly without warning.  No harm came, only an increase in weakness.

A taxi with the driver waiting for a fare stood only ten yards away.  What a blessing!  Again my friends helped me by putting me into the front seat of the taxi.  The driver drove up the steep, narrow street for a block to my residences at the II Station of the Cross.  The Lord had taken good care of me, with my friends at the tomb, and the taxi cab driver.  I gave him $20.

The address of my residence was Ecce Homo (Behold The Man), Via Dolorosa 41, Jerusalem.  Via Dolorosa means The Sorrowful Way, with reference to the Way of the Cross.  All of us could add those words, Via Dolorosa, to our address, no matter where we live.  Each one of us is carrying a cross; life allows for no exceptions.  The invisible cross might be a sickness, a heartbreak, family situation, fears, worries, or harmful addiction, such as indifference to God, a revengeful spirit.  Many people lack employment.

Plan to be a Simon of Cyrene or a Veronica to people we meet each day.  Give others a spirit of hope by our kindness and loving ways.  I can help others in many different ways – with a smile, a word of advice, an offer of friendship, by sharing a book, listening with a patient ear.  Live out the Via Dolorosa dream.

                        Fr. George Mc Kenna

July 28, 2013 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Father, this is exactly what I needed hear on this exact day at this exact point in my life.
    Thank you for again being my Spiritual Director. The first time was 52 years ago!

    Comment by Steve Molidor | July 28, 2013 | Reply

  2. Father, thank you for sharing this – I very much enjoy your writings and always a find a message there.
    God Bless, Bart

    Comment by barttimm | July 28, 2013 | Reply

  3. Hi Fr. George! What a beautiful story and message! Again, you amaze me with your writings that are so thought-provoking and guide us in a gentle spiritual way. You are truly a gift from God to all who know you. I love you, Fr. George. We have had some pain in my faith community as we lost our dear Pastor, Fr. Emmett Carroll, SJ this past Wednesday. He was our pastor at St. Cecilia on Bainbridge Island. He was the priest that married Tim and I in the church. He was such a kind soul. He would have been 82 in November. It made me realize for the first time that it has only been since knowing you and being friends, that I have felt such a loss over a priest. Before knowing you so well, I was just someone who know the priest only thru mass, not a personal connection. In this loss, I realized that I have grown so much with my connection to you! Yet ANOTHER blessing from God above! Your words at the end of this message speak volumes – that is really all that Our Lord asks us to do – to be kind and loving to all those that we encounter along the way of their path in life. I will truly pray that I can live up to this simple request. Fr. George, I offer up my daily prayer for priests and mention you specifically as the priest to ‘whom I am indebted in every way’. Love you and miss you, Fr. George.

    Comment by Nancy Westvang | July 28, 2013 | Reply

  4. What a wonderful passage and what an inspiration you are to all, to love and serve not only God but each other. Miss our visits hope to get up to see you soon, praying God is keeping you healthy. Debra Hurley

    Comment by Anonymous | August 5, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

