God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

An Open Mind


In 1830, Our Lady asked Sister Catherine Laboure to have a medal made according to certain specifications.  We now know this as the Miraculous Medal.

In 1830, Our Lady asked Sister Catherine Laboure to have a medal made according to certain specifications. We now know this as the Miraculous Medal.

A Professor Hamilton, an anthropologist, the most popular teacher at Harvard University, a world authority on the history of man, tells of an early incident in his life.  At the age of five, his father took him to the local museum.  There, for the first time, he saw a dinosaur, and at that moment, his whole life work fell into place.

An open mind can be equated with a field not yet seeded for harvest.  Whatever seed goes into this fertile ground will bring forth a bumper crop of wheat, corn, barley or soy bean.  An open, inquisitive mind presents an excellent growing place for the best ideas life can bring us.  No limits to growth with this attitude!

In the story above, the young boy’s mind lay open to new, fascinating ideas.  The sight of the giant dinosaur triggered a whole flurry of questions about this beast and the world the animal moved in.  In the years ahead, the youngster would grow up to teach about this monster in one of the great Universities of the world.

Is there a better way to live?  This can always be a meaningful and fruitful question for bringing good ideas into one’s life.  Do I have to be fearful so much of the day?  Why am I carrying this hatchet of resentment in my heart week after week?  Is there a different way to live . . . a better way . . . my favorite question always!

What if I didn’t have this ever present feeling of insecurity?  What if I confidently looked upon myself as a loving and lovable person?  What if I realized that I have many talents, as yet hidden, and not yet developed?  Let our minds be magnets for new ideas!

If people approach life and its happenings with an openness and a willingness to change, they could latch on to new, productive ways of living.  One good idea can change our whole life style!  Am I convinced that I have to power to add to the beauty and joy of my life?

What if I determined to be a peacemaker at home and wrap everybody there in a warm embrace of love and concern?  What am I doing with my life?  Expose the children to different visions of life by taking them to museums, expositions and zoos.

In a troubled relationship, the most tragic words are: “There’s nothing wrong with me.  I don’t need to change.”

                        Fr. George Mc Kenna

May 18, 2013 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Thank you Fr. George…you always inspire us, the flock! Thanks for being such an outstanding shepherd for Him!!! Happy Pentecost! God’s Blessings, Love & Grace, Marianne

    Comment by mcs | May 19, 2013 | Reply

  2. Hi Fr. George – thank you for that beautiful post today – I could certainly use some inspiration and uplifting words – our dog tore her knee cartilage and had major surgery – she is off walks/play for a minimum of 8 weeks and then only 5 minute walks once or twice a day. It is going to be a LONG summer! I miss you, Fr. George. I love to read your writings – they always have such meaning for us in this chaotic world. And I love the picture of Our Lady and the miraculous medal – my mother was wearing one when she passed away. I now have it. I wish you peace and love as we enter back into Ordinary time. You are never far from my thoughts and I pray for you DAILY! Love you!! Nancy

    Comment by Nancy | May 19, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

