God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Reflections Of A Mother


My Mother on her Wedding Day!

My Mother on her Wedding Day!

(I’ve always enjoyed this piece from an unknown author)
I gave you life, but cannot live it for you.
I can teach you things, but I cannot make you learn.
I can give you directions, but I cannot be there to lead you.
I can allow you freedom, but I cannot account for it.
I can take you to church, but I cannot make you believe.
I can teach you right from wrong, but I cannot always decide for you.
I can buy you beautiful clothes, but I cannot make you beautiful inside.
I can offer you advice, but I cannot accept it for you.
I can give you love, but I cannot force it upon you.
I can teach you to share, but I cannot make you unselfish.
I can teach you respect, but I cannot force you to show honor.
I can advise you about your friends, but I cannot choose them for you.
I can advise you about sex, but I cannot keep you pure.
I can tell you the facts of life, but I cannot build your reputation.
I can tell you about drink, but I cannot say “no” for you.
I can warn you about drugs, but I cannot prevent you from using them.
I can tell you about lofty goals, but I cannot achieve them for you.
I can teach you about kindness, but I cannot force you to be gracious.
I can warn you about sins, but I cannot make you moral.
I can love you as a child, but I cannot place you in God’s family.
I can pray for you, but I cannot make you walk with God.
I can teach you about Jesus, but I cannot make Jesus your Lord.
I can tell you how to live, but I cannot give you eternal life.

Happy Mother’s Day To ALL!!

Thank you for all the extra “hits” and all the wonderful prayers and wishes on the anniversary of my Ordination!
Fr. George Mc Kenna

May 11, 2013 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Hi Fr. George – I love this post – it is SO correct! A mother cannot live your life for you and even though she may see you make choices that she knows will cause you some pain, she has to let go and let you live your life. And she’ll always be there for you when you need her. This is a painful first Mother’s Day without my mom, but I have SO many wonderful memories of her and I together over all these years. She was a wonderful mother and I cherish the many special memories that I have of her. Thank you for sharing a photo of your mother on her wedding day – that was so nice to see that! I am praying for you every day, Fr. George. Thank you for being there for me! And thank you for the note that you sent – it was very special of you to do so! Love you much! Nancy

    Comment by nancywest22 | May 11, 2013 | Reply

  2. That is a beautiful passage, and so wonderful for mothers day! Thank you Father McKenna, Debra Hurley

    Comment by Anonymous | May 12, 2013 | Reply

  3. Hi Father, what a beautiful piece. Thank you for sharing it with us.
    Our love and prayers are with you always. Chet & Betty from St. Al’s

    Comment by Anonymous | May 24, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

