God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Look Upwards


Last month, many Florida residents took pictures of what they saw when they looked upward!

Last month, many Florida residents took pictures of what they saw when they looked upward!

In 1976, the Rectory of our Immaculate Conception Mission, in Bethel, in far western Alaska, was situated only 200 yards from the great wild Kuskokwin River.  On my off days, my only recreation was to take a long hike along this twisting River for three miles to the local Airport.  Renewed by coffee and a hamburger, I would retrace my steps along the Kuskokwin.  The cool air and the awesome scenery made the outing really exhilarating and soul satisfying.

One off day, as I stood looking down at the seaplanes moored at the River’s edge, a station wagon and a car drove up.  Six Eskimos took a coffin from the station wagon and reverently carried it down the steep incline to the pontoon plane.  Minutes later, the seaplane roared off into the sky to the north.

A native Eskimo had died at the Central Hospital in Bethel, far from his birthplace.  At this time, the plane carried the man back to his native village, a 100 miles up the River, to his real home, to be buried in sacred ground.

In that stark, wild setting, the thought came to me that this land we live in is not our real home.  For a short time, we are only passing through this strange and alien world.  At death, angels will carry us far away to our true home in Heaven.

With this in mind, we want to fill our days with loving faithfulness to the Great God with Whom we will spend some time each day in looking upwards.  Usually, people think of Heaven as being beyond those blue skies and puffy white clouds . . . Look Upwards!

We can say. . . There is my real home.  All that I have here on earth will pass away . . . These words make a powerful prayer.  In physical pain, in all the disturbances of life, temptations of evil, we can look to Heaven for consolation and refreshment of spirit.  Many wholesome, encouraging thoughts will flood our minds to help us persevere in God’s service.

Fr. George Mc Kenna

April 20, 2013 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Hi Father George – I absolutely love this story – I can picture you walking in the beauty of Alaska! All of your writings are so descriptive, the reader can imagine the setting perfectly. And I love the image of the angels taking us up to heaven. I know that my mother has traveled with the angels up to our Heavenly Father. Expect a letter soon, mailed it yesterday. Love you,
    Nancy

    Comment by nancy westvang | April 20, 2013 | Reply

  2. Thank you, Fr. George, your messages are always uplifting. I find them very encouraging. Joanne Kelly

    Sent from my iPad

    Comment by Joanne Kelly | April 20, 2013 | Reply

  3. I’m sure there will be many angels to accompany you home when your time on this plane is complete, what a wonderful servant of God you have been and continue to be with your inspiring stories, you bring so much light to this very often dark world. Thank you,

    Comment by Debra Hurley | April 20, 2013 | Reply

  4. The picture, your words…awesome! “…the heavens declare the glory of God, and the firmament proclaims his handiwork…” Ps 19:2 Thank you Fr. George! Happy Feast Day – April 23!
    God’s Blessings, Love & Grace, Marianne

    Comment by mcs | April 22, 2013 | Reply

  5. Dear Fr. McKenna,
    I so enjoy all of your weekly “homilies” but especially this one. I was out of town and the timing of my flights did not co-incide with available Masses on either end. Your homily, along with my Catholic apps for readings provided me my “conndction”.

    I have shared your blog with friends and family nationwide. And I hope you continue to share your wonderfully inspiring homilies. They carry me through the week. God bless you for your work.

    Comment by Donna Kurcz | April 27, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

