God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

If Only I Came To Know Christ Sooner


Palm SundayThis experience has happened to me frequently.  As I turn on the radio, I hear the last bars of a favorite piece of music, maybe Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony.  A sadness fills my heart!  How I would have enjoyed hearing this masterpiece from the beginning!  I turned on the radio too late.  Has the reader gone through this kind of sadness?

We can transfer this experience to our life story.  What if we should see the Grandeur and the Glory of the Person of Christ in the last weeks or days of life?  Here I am on my death bed, when suddenly, by inspiration or a heavenly vision, I glimpse the Attractiveness and the Greatness of Jesus of Nazareth.  I cry out, “I wish I had seen the splendor of the Lord sooner when I was young and healthy.  What a difference this would have made in my life!”  A terrible sadness will chill my heart.

In March, 1995, we buried a young woman of 35 years of age.  She left behind a grieving husband and two little boys, ages five and three.  From childhood, this person had always been a faith-filled Catholic, but two years before her death, a sudden inspiration took hold of her thoughts and mind.  Somehow, the Person of Christ captured her heart and desires, pushing her to spread the Kingdom of God in her community.  Her enthusiasm encouraged many other young women her age to join with her in working for holiness in their parish.

In her last months of life, as she bore patiently many sufferings, she told me of a new excitement and delight that came into her life on sensing the Beauty of the young Preacher from Nazareth.  After her death, I began to look into my life, with the determination to latch on to a new Vision of the Lord of Life and Death.  I don’t want any death bed sayings, “If only I had.”

Perhaps, our days follow one after another in gloomy fashion, a dreary procession of uninspired happenings.  How quickly this would change if we captured this Vision of the Messiah, Jesus of Nazareth!  A new excitement would enter our lives and fill our days with an unexplainable happiness, no matter what our crosses might be.  We would live above our own immediate needs and cares to think of spreading the Kingdom of God as this woman did.

On this Palm Sunday, witness the enthusiastic shouts of the followers of the Lord as He makes His way into Jerusalem on the back of a donkey.  For a brief moment, these delirious people saw what a Noble and Humble Person Jesus was, as they hailed Him their King.  Sad to say, this fervor lasted only a short time.  During Holy Week, be present in a loving way at the ceremonies honoring our King, Jesus of Nazareth.

Fr. George Mc Kenna

March 23, 2013 - Posted by | Bulletins

3 Comments »

  1. Always enjoy reading what you write., Thank you and God bless.

    Comment by barttimm | March 23, 2013 | Reply

  2. Thank you Fr. George for your faith-filled & loving reminders to invite Jesus of Nazareth into our life’s journey…every day of our life! A Blessed Holy Week to you! God’s Blessings, Love & Grace, Marianne

    Comment by mcs | March 24, 2013 | Reply

  3. I know this is one of your favrite weeks of the year, enveloping yourself with the passion of Christ, I still cry thinking of the suffering, but he did teach us how to die, and having a brother and mother who have passed that died as humbly I’m so grateful they are with him now and that he was with them in their time of need, never complaining just awaiting the day to join the Lord.Your the best Father! It’s so nice to have someone here

    Comment by Debra Hurley | March 24, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

