God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

With Faith In God, I Can Overcome Any Obstacle


NotreDameParisIn the splendid Cathedrals of Europe, I found great inspiration for my faith in God.  My favorite one has always been Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris, France.  Build some 800 years ago, around 1200 A.D., over a period of 100 years, this magnificent House of Workshop tells the world of the remarkable faith in God of the builders and the people of those times.  With much sacrifice, these men and women decided to build a Holy Place worthy of the Greatness of God.

Oftentimes, in my many visits to Notre Dame, I sat there within its awesome interior, amidst the swirl of tourists from all nations, and made plans to erect such a holy building within my heart and spirit.  This I would do with good works and willingly accepted sufferings.  An altar would hold my offerings of prayers.  At any time of the day, I could enter this sacred place within me, for time with God.  My faith would be alive, similar to that of the builders of Notre Dame in Paris.

I encourage our readers to have a burning desire to raise a mighty Cathedral of Worship within their souls for the honor and glory of God.  What beauty and goodness we would see within ourselves.  Have confidence that with our faith, our belief in God’s power, this is all possible!  Do we not believe in the presence of the Holy Spirit within us?

I have given thousands and thousands of homilies and talks over 68 years.  After all this speaking about God, I conclude that, after the gift of life, next comes the gift of faith, a belief in a God always with us.  Prize our Catholic Faith above all other possessions.  Our faith gives meaning to our lives in the midst of all our sufferings.  We are here only for a short time, to prepare ourselves for Heaven.

Recently, I asked a waitress, a longtime friend from a previous parish, “How is your faith life?  Do you attend Church on weekends?”  She responded, “My faith is my everything.  I couldn’t live without it.”  Without our faith in God, we would be like a ship without a rudder.  Such a ship is at the mercy of the winds and the waves.  It cannot head for any definite place because it is pushed back and forth in all directions.  Our faith steers us to peace.

Daily prayer, weekly worship, keeping the Commandments, will strengthen our faith in God and help us to be holy people on earth.

Fr. George Mc Kenna

January 26, 2013 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Very good!

    Comment by Karen | January 26, 2013 | Reply

  2. Your words inspire us, each one of us, to build a cathedral in our heart & soul…I will make those “plans” each day…asking the Holy Spirit to help the construction, throughout the day and for the rest of my life… our guardian angels will help too! God Bless you forever Fr. George. Love, Marianne

    Comment by MCS | January 26, 2013 | Reply

  3. To build a cathedral of worship within my soul-wow!
    I’ve been to the cathedral of Notre Dame and it did indeed felt like being
    inside someones reverent soul!

    Comment by Lu Quinn | January 27, 2013 | Reply

  4. What a beautiful message, Fr. George, to build a cathedral of worship within my soul – you are such a master with words and imagery!! I love to read your posts – they always are so meaningful and rich with substance! I’m so lucky to know you! Tim and I were in this cathedral on Pentecost Sunday – the rich red of the robes that the priest wore – in such a magificent place – we have beautiful pictures and memories of it – that is quite a structure – Notre Dame – “Our Lady”… beautiful… thank you for this post, Fr. George – I love you! Love, Nancy

    Comment by nancy westvang | February 3, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

