God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

I Discover A Gold Mine


Christmas CardSome time ago, I came across a few lines of writing that have added much peace and joy to my daily living.  The words struck me like a bolt of lightning, awaking myself to possibilities that I never thought attainable.  I thought to myself that this must be a direct message from the Lord.

The writer, a highly respected one, said: “I have met six truly great people in my lifetime.  In researching their lives to discover the secret of their greatness, I found a common set of traits running their ways of doing things.  They never worried and they never hurried.

The last sentence caught my attention, because I, like so many others, thought that no one could divorce worry from living.  However, these six people, human beings like myself, succeeded in training themselves to put aside fretful thoughts and to act in a measured way without haste and stress.  Undoubtedly, these attitudes helped these six people to reach success.

The words, they never worried and they never hurried, found a warm place in my heart, taking on the preciousness of a real treasure.  In past days, these words have run through my mind at a time when I would ordinarily fret about worry about poor results in the struggle to live.  In spite of the peace shattering ideas in my mind, the few words above, spoken quietly to myself, brought a consoling blanket of peace to my worrisome heart.

In our heart of hearts, truly believe that we can live without that devastating attitude of mind that strips a human being of personal morale and joyfulness.  What me, we will say, give up worrying and low down in my way of doing things?  Impossible!  Yes, I thought like that too, until the words above, they never worried and they never hurried.

Amazing, with confidence in my own powers and God’s ever present help, my outlook has changed drastically.  A new time of peace and inner calm has come to me.  Tasting this way of life, I wanted to share this “good news” with all our readers.

As we enter the New Year of 2013, take these words above to heart.  A year without worry and stress will bring us close to Our God Who knows when a sparrow falls to the ground.

January 5, 2013 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Thank you Father McKenna for words which I desperately need at this time in my life. It’s all I do, but with your words I hope to change my life and know God better than I do.

    Comment by Judith Owens | January 5, 2013 | Reply

  2. A simple statement with life changing potential. Thank you Father.

    Comment by cliff peloquin | January 5, 2013 | Reply

  3. Father George, Thank you for these words of wisdom. My life seems so hectic at times. Your insight is what I need. God Bless you.

    Comment by Anonymous | January 5, 2013 | Reply

  4. Hi Father George! It was so wonderful talking to you today! I am so happy that you are feeling better. Thank you for this post – I struggle with worry. During my recent eye surgery, where I had to sit very still and keep my eye still, I thought to myself over and over, ‘Sacred Heart of Jesus, I place all my trust in Thee’. It certainly helped me stay calm. You do touch SO many lives with your beautiful words!! Have a good week this week! Love, Nancy

    Comment by nancywest22 | January 6, 2013 | Reply

  5. God’s Blessings, Love & Grace to you Fr. George for all you share with us in your words and faith-filled wisdom! Reaching deep within our hearts! Wishing you a sky-filled with His Love and showering the blessings of good health to you!
    Love, Marianne

    Comment by mcs | January 7, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

