God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

A Blockbuster Of A Resolution


Today is the Feast of the Holy Family.  This painting is by Juan Simon Gutierrez

Today is the Feast of the Holy Family. This painting is by Juan Simon Gutierrez

The beginning of the New Year, 2013, ushers in the time for making resolutions with the hope of bettering our lives.  “I’m going to diet. . . less TV. . . no smoking. . . some exercise every day.” Promises like these only tough the outer edges of life, the periphery of our life experience.  

Consider something more life changing!I want to propose a resolution that will go directly to the heart of life, to the core of our being.  The one I offer sounds deceptively simple and goes like this: “I wish to be a loving person.” When I took this resolution and tried to live it out in years past, I brought peace and happiness of Heaven into my heart.

A few nights ago, on a Christmas program, Janice Warwick sang a song, “What The World Needs Now Is Love.”  This heart tugging melody reminds us that we do have a cure for all the violence about us in the world today.  That cure is love and respect for each other.  No matter what our age, schooling, or social position, we all have the ability to be loving persons.

In the past, after taking this resolution, I found myself waking in the morning, with feelings of excitement about all the opportunities I would have that day to be a loving person.  Kindness, gentleness, forgiveness would be the key words in my mind for the hours ahead.

All of a sudden, my thoughts, words and actions came under closer scrutiny, with the conviction that anger, hatreds, and ill will could have no place in my life.  Because of my resolution, I found it easy to put these out of my mind.

As I tried to show respect, consideration for others and their feelings, I came to appreciate more my own person and my own gifts.  If the reader takes this resolution to heart, a light and beauty will shine forth from the face that will attract new friends and bring a delight to life.

One may say, will all this happen from the taking of such a simple resolution as the one offered, “I wish to be a loving person?”  Yes, all this and much more.  “Did I fill the world with love?”  At death, we will have much consolation if we will be able to say, “Yes, I did the best I could.”

A Happy and Blessed New Year!  Fr. George Mc Kenna

December 29, 2012 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Happy New Year Fr. George. Thanks for your warm messages of hope and love.

    Comment by Anonymous | December 29, 2012 | Reply

  2. Oh Father, once again you are right on! if only a small percentage of people would make this resolution the world would be a better place!
    You are the best and may you be blessed in 2013.

    Comment by Debra Hurley | December 30, 2012 | Reply

  3. Thank you, Fr. George, for the beautiful words to start the New Year with – Loving words would go a LONG way to making this world a better place – Just like Jesus intended it to be “Love one another”. I am so happy to have you as a friend and am so happy that you are feeling better. I will write you this week and plan to call you in a couple of weeks to make sure that you are doing OK. My prayer for you is to have a Blessed, Healthy, and peaceful New Year! Love to you, Nancy

    Comment by nancy westvang | January 7, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

