God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Let Your Light Shine Before All


Christmas  candle.  images stock  Holidays New YearYears ago, I attended an International Airport Chaplains Conference in Stockholm, Sweden.  I learned many things about the country, one especially, almost immediately, on leaving the Airport for the ride to the site of the conference.  The law in Sweden says, “As soon as a motor car is started, it must have its lights on, no matter what time of the day.”  This law makes for greater safety on the highways.

In a Gospel, Jesus says, “Let your light shine before all, so that they may see your good works and give glory to God.”  What gives light to us?  The presence of joy and peace in our hearts – a sure sign of the Holy Spirit – provides this light, this radiance.  Joy means the happiness of the spirit.   Peace speaks of harmony in the spirit, an absence of fears, anxieties.  I breathe easily!

Isn’t it true that when we see these qualities of joy and peace shining out through the lives of other people we are attracted to them?  Instinctively, we know that the Presence of God is connected with these wonderful gifts.  How we hunger to have these gifts and the Holy Spirit in our lives!

Too many have given up hope of possessing joy and peace in their hearts.  A light has gone out of their lives!  There is always something happening to make us fearful, distressed, anxious and thus rob us of joy and peace.  So we say, the Lord certainly didn’t plan for us to have these riches of the spirit for any length of time.  Life is just too stressful!  But the Gospel cries out to all, Jesus does want this way of life for us.  Didn’t He say, “Let your light shine before all . . .”

Look about us!  We see many of our brothers and sisters with furrows in their foreheads, sad looking eyes, and unsmiling lips.  Perhaps, if we look in the mirror, we might see the same picture.  Certainly, if this is our case, we are not allowing our light to shine out before others.  Gloomy and sad looking people do not give glory to God.

The story of two sparrows comes to mind.  One sparrow said to another sparrow on a bright, sunny morning, “Why do these humans look so worried and sad?”  The second sparrow replied, “Perhaps, they do not have a Heavenly Father such as we have, Who cares for us in everyway.”

These days, as you start your car, immediately switch on the headlights.  Yes, say to yourself, “the lights of my car are on, but are the lights of my person, and the lights of peace and joy turned on?  I will live today in peace and joy!”

Fr. George McKenna

December 15, 2012 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Thank you Father! We will see you over Christmas! God bless

    Sent from my iPhone

    Comment by Elizabeth Doyle | December 15, 2012 | Reply

  2. Thank you Fr. George for your light! I’m glad I got to visit with you this afternoon! You always brighten my spirit!
    Bruce Kleinschmidt

    Comment by Bruce Kleinschmidt | December 15, 2012 | Reply

  3. In the tragic events of what has happened in Connecticut this past Friday, I am finding myself confused and my emotions raw. I wonder at the world, and our existence in it. And, Father, i find myself wondering about God, about how 20 first graders can be gunned down like that. But, I also listen to the heroic tales of the teachers who kept many out of harms way, and the few that gave the ultimate sacrifice for their students. I found myself wanting to hear comforting words at mass today, but I didn’t hear any – only the pre-prepared lecture that fit with today’s readings. That made me feel angry, but then, I guess, I realized, what can my Pastor say? what can anyone say? The person that did this had mental health issues – he had to. And so, it is beyond words and reason. Thank you for this post, it is so meaningful for me today, to have inner peace – and to know that the light of Christ is in me and that without His light in me, I am nothing. God Bless you, Father George. I love you!

    Comment by Nancy Westvang | December 16, 2012 | Reply

  4. Father (Uncle!) George your light truly brightens up this world! We will be thinking of you and praying for you from Minnesota this Christmas. Love, Beth and Dan

    Comment by Dan Tucker | December 22, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

