God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

The Best Kept Secret On Glory Road!


St. JoeI love St. Joseph, “The Quiet Man” of the Gospels.  This gentle, prayerful man, mentioned only four times in the Gospels, found himself in trouble each time.  The woman he was to marry was carrying a child.  Only an angel calmed his trouble heart.  At Bethlehem, Joseph settled for a drafty stable for the birth of the Holy Child.  Shortly after the Birth, an angel’s message took him and his family into mysterious Egypt.  A desperate Joseph sought the Child at age 12.

No wonder the Church, through the centuries, has cried to all in trouble, “Ite Ad Joseph”, “Go To Joseph”.  After Ordination in 1944, I was assigned to a school for dependent children, Maryville, with an enrollment of 850 boys and girls.  Every night, after a 15 hour day, I came to the school Chapel and knelt before Joseph’s altar.

Above his statue were written the words, “Ite Ad Joseph”I prayed . . . “Dear St. Joseph, you had only One Foster Child, but I am a foster father to 850 children.  You must help me to be the kind of foster father you were: kind, patient, prayerful.”  Without doubt, Joseph heard my prayer in the dark silence of the late night.  I mean to say, after doing my tour of five years, I went on to other work, almost a normal person.

I would like to shout to the world what a powerful intercessor we have in Joseph.  Consider him the best kept secret on the Glory Road.  All through the years after Maryville, I continued to call on my dear friend, Joseph, for my needs in the Priesthood.  Because I pray with absolute faith in his care for me, he answers my prayers in sometimes a miraculous way, especially in my travels.

If we find ourselves in a pit of despondency, in an addiction, to something displeasing to God, beg Joseph, the Carpenter, to build a ladder so that we can climb out of it.  In Alaska, in my time with the Eskimos, every day, I walked up and down in our little Mission Chapel, always stopping at its back to put my hands on the feet of the life sized statue of Joseph.  It was my way of saying, “Joseph, I trust you.”

The Holy Season of Advent, 2012, begins this weekend, a pilgrimage of prayer we make in preparation for Christmas, the Birth of Christ.  Make St. Joseph a key person in this time.  Ask him to help us.                                                                                                   

Fr. George Mc Kenna

December 1, 2012 - Posted by | Bulletins | , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Ite Ad Joseph ….beautiful

    Comment by Mike McKenna | December 1, 2012 | Reply

  2. Thank you Fr. George for reminding us how special St. Joseph is…in all our lives, throughout our lifetimes! God’s Blessings, Love & Grace, Marianne

    Comment by mcs | December 2, 2012 | Reply

  3. Hi Fr. George! I am always very devoted to St. Joseph, I pray to him daily from me and on behalf of my mom, who cannot remember her prayers anymore. I think of you every day and pray for you often. I will write to you tomorrow! Take care,
    Love,
    Nancy

    Comment by Nancy Westvang | December 3, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

