God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Here Lies A Once Beautiful Part Of Me


Normandy American Cemetery and Memorial
God Bless our Veterans

Some years ago, every morning, I drove by a small cemetery with its white picket fence.    Inside, white crosses marked the burial places of people who once enjoyed the thrill of earthly life.  The thought came frequently: what am I doing with this gift of life?  Am I making the most of my talents and chances for fulfillment?  Soon I will be in a graveyard such as this.  The locale for this burial ground was far western Alaska, in the community of Bethel, with a population of 3,500 people, the last frontier of the United States.

After a while, a new trend of thought came to me.  How about taking an imaginary trip into my inner spirit and seeing there the graveyard of many beautiful qualities that were once part of my life.  This frequent journey into the last frontier of my life stirred up a whole new desire in me for a full life.

There in the burial ground of my spirit, under white crosses, I saw rich qualities of life I once enjoyed.  One cross had this writing: “Here lies the gift of hope, interred 1978.”  Yes, I used to be optimistic and lighthearted, but not in recent years.  Another cross had this writing: “The death of Love, at rest, 1980.”  How full of love and forgiveness I once was, but then because of being hurt by others, I grew cynical about love and drew back into my shell.

Many other crosses surrounded me: an enthusiasm for living.  In years past, rain beating against the windows would send a thrill of delight down my spine.  Not anymore.  Now grouchy and long faced, I scowled at those who enjoyed these “little pleasures” of life.

I will take the Risen Lord by the hand and lead Him into the graveyard of my broken dreams.  He will bring back to life again those enriching ways of living that were once mine.                                                                                                                                 

Fr. George Mc Kenna

November 10, 2012 - Posted by | Bulletins | , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Have no hope after this election…can’t pray…don’t want to pray…Is God dead? especially in the United States?

    Comment by Kathleen Fitzgerald | November 10, 2012 | Reply

  2. God Bless Fr Mckenna ! Paul Krueger ( former student)

    Comment by Paul Krueger | November 10, 2012 | Reply

  3. Faith, Hope & Love…and the greatest of these is Love…thank you for your inspiration, encouragement and great writings of the very essence of Faith, Hope & Love…your work for Him for us keeps us on course, an earthly pilgrimage to our heavenly Home!!!

    God’s Blessings, Love & Grace to you Fr George!!! Love Always, Marianne

    Comment by MCS | November 11, 2012 | Reply

  4. Those who have done the most feeling like there was more they could do… .
    Uncle George you are a titan of faith and in one day you’ve done more for the world than most people even imagine getting done in a lifetime.

    Comment by Mike McKenna | November 12, 2012 | Reply

  5. Once again Father, reminding us of how precious life is and how much we have to be grateful for, how blessed we are and with a little change of attitude how we can be a blessing to others. You are such a blessing to all. Thank you!

    Comment by Debra Hurley | November 13, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

