God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Think Of Others


Saint Louis Hospital Jerusalem

Oftentimes, when I notice all my prayers centering on myself and my own fulfillment, I purposely think of others, the sick, the weary, and the downhearted.  Someone said recently, “Jesus enters your life when you begin to think of others.”  Evidently, an exaggeration, but it does hold much truth.

In Jerusalem, I came to know the Hospital of St. Louis, a four storied building, just outside the walls of the Old City.  French nuns staff this Residence for people with incurable diseases.  As many times as I passed this building, I never saw visitors entering or leaving.  No one came to see these suffering people.

In my weary moments, when self-pity and monotony of life would hold sway in my thoughts, I would walk to the front of this House of Mercy.  There, on the busy boulevard, with my arms outstretched, I would pray for those who would die that day, for those in excruciating pain and for those who could not sleep.

When I did this, I came away refreshed, free from nagging fears and worries.  The Lord felt much closer to me because I had proven that I was interested in all His people, especially His needy ones.  Even now, in Chicago, especially when I can’t sleep at night and life seems dark and gloomy, I go back to the Hospital of St. Louis in spirit.  Peace comes along quickly with sleep.

In our neighborhoods, wherever we live, many of our brothers and sisters suffer in body and mind.  Many lead meaningless lives, the greatest pain of all.  Close by us, young girls and boys struggle to live in a frightful world of sensuality and self-indulgence.  Our prayers can help these neighbors.

When we notice that our prayers and thoughts are taken up completely with ourselves and our own interests go in spirit to the homes of these suffering people and leave blessings there in the forms of our prayers.  We need not know the exact address of these homes.  We will experience a deep peace!              

Fr. George Mc Kenna

October 27, 2012 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Thank you Father. That is quite thought provoking. I am going to put that into practice in my life. Quietly sending my prayers, blessings and good thoughts toward the less fortunate. I hope you are doing well. God bless you.

    Comment by Beth Doyle | October 27, 2012 | Reply

  2. Thank you Father George for sharing your faith with me. This helps me grow in my faith-to help those who have no one to pray for them. Peace be with you. Pam

    Comment by Anonymous | October 27, 2012 | Reply

  3. That was awesome and I will try to do this!
    Much Love, Lynne

    Comment by Anonymous | October 28, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

