God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Prayer, The Greatest Experience Of All


With my brother John standing in front of the ruins of an ancient Jewish synagogue on the shore of the Sea of Galilee

In the midst of the Great Depression in 1932, I had a job carrying golf bags for the golfers at Westgate Valley Golf Club.  Some of these bags stood taller than I did.  The money earned at this time provided food for our family table.  One morning early, I got a job toting a bag for Father Eugene O’Malley, the Director of the then famous Paulists Boys’ Choir.  Delighting in the certainty that I would bring home money that evening, something like a dollar, I felt lighthearted and grateful to God.

My mother kept me mindful of God as she sent me, then a little boy of 12, out those 13 miles to the golf course.  Always at the doorway, she would say: “Now, bless yourself and ask God to take care of you”, along with a kiss.

Walking down the first hole, I spoke my thanks to God for getting me this early morning job.  My words were louder than I thought, because Father O’Malley walking behind me said: “Caddy, are you talking to yourself?”  Shy about saying that I was giving my thanks to God, I mumbled some answer to this kind priest.  The memory of this incident, some 80 years ago, has given me much consolation over the years, because it reminds me that I did see a lot of meaning in talking to God about ordinary things even at that early age.

As life comes to an end, I would say that prayer, conversation with God, has provided the greatest enjoyment I have experienced in my time on earth.  Knowing that God is forever listening and infinitely patient, I have tried to share my happenings in life with Him.  In sad times, in hours of being tempted to give up God and His commandments, in desperate days of fear and discouragement, in lonely dark nights of the soul, I always found God waiting to support me with His Strength and Love.

In His Goodness, God could not have given us a more precious gift than the power to lift up our minds and hearts to Him in prayer.  To the extent that we use this gift will be the measure of our delight and joy in loving God.

Fr. George Mc Kenna

October 13, 2012 - Posted by | Bulletins |

5 Comments »

  1. Thank you Father Mc Kenna for reminding me of our gift of being able to speak to God as often as we need or want to. It is a great gift.

    Comment by Judith Owens | October 13, 2012 | Reply

  2. Thank You Father for your ministry and you being you.
    Paul krueger ( Quigley sem)

    Comment by Paul Krueger | October 13, 2012 | Reply

  3. Hi Father George! Thank you for this beautiful post to your blog, as they all are! I had to smile when I read about you talking to God and Fr. O’Malley heard you – I will often say out loud to God, a prayer of thanks when I hang up after talking to my mother – thanking Him for another opportunity to talk to my mom (92 y/o). I know that I should talk to God more often. Your blog writings are the spiritual direction that we all need and yours is a great service to those that read them. I love you, Fr. George! Our beautiful fall weather is gone now and we are back in the rain and wind – but, we need the rain so I am glad. Take care of yourself, Father. You are in my thoughts and prayers very much! Love, Nancy

    Comment by Nancy Westvang | October 14, 2012 | Reply

  4. So great to get these sent to me automatically. It is so convenient. These stories always put your heart in right place for soul to follow every time.

    Comment by Mike McKenna | October 14, 2012 | Reply

  5. The gift of prayer…truly a gift of His Love! Thanks forever Fr. George for sharing Him with us!
    God’s Blessings, Love & Grace, Marianne

    Comment by mcs | December 2, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

