God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Count Your Blessings


Oscar Pistorius
Competed in the London Olympics this year, despite that both of his legs were amputated when
he was 11 months old!

Once, while golfing, I saw a young man on the course who apparently knew much about living life fully.  Because of a birth defect, most likely, he had two fingers on one hand and three fingers on the other.  To compensate for this condition, he held on to the golf clubs in an unusual way, clutching them tightly so that he could make a forceful swing.

The young man hit the golf ball with much success.  Throughout the day, while playing just behind him and his group, I saw him jump into the air a number of times in glee after making a successful shot.  Without doubt, he enjoyed himself immensely, even though he probably didn’t break any records with his golf game.

What a lesson for living, I said to myself.  In accepting his handicap, he had opened the door to much natural enjoyment in the outdoors with his friends.  He could have stayed home, bemoaning the hand of cards that fate had dealt him.  At the beginning of the day, after seeing this courageous man swinging a golf club, I made a resolution that I wouldn’t complain about anything that day.  However, as the day went on, I allowed a cloud of depression and complaint to sweep over my mind as I made some poor golf shots.

I didn’t see myself jumping with glee as the young man did in front of me.  Apparently, he had a much more enjoyable day than I did.  My hands and fingers were fairly normal, but I was taking them for granted and allowing some minor adverse happenings to blind me to the many blessings I had from God.

To keep a well-balanced happiness in their lives, people should count their blessings every day.  Indeed, they can write them down.  Such an exercise would convince these people that they possessed many gifts and had every reason to be contented and happiness filled human beings.

I personally found a lot of true peace coming into my spirit when I began to do as I mentioned above, to write down as many   blessings as I could.  Just think of some,,,   to live in these United states., land of liberty and freedom, to be able to walk, a reasonable amount of good health, a living faith in God, the presences of loved ones, a satisfying job, enough food, a comfortable house to live in and countless opportunities to grow in mind and spirit through books, education and prayer.

Fr. George Mc Kenna

September 15, 2012 - Posted by | Bulletins |

6 Comments »

  1. Thank you Fr. McKenna for reminding me to give thanks to our God. God is good. Pam

    Comment by Anonymous | September 15, 2012 | Reply

  2. Fr. George, you remind us always to be thankful & grateful!!! We are all blessed to read your words, that enrich our lives, touch our hearts, and deepen our faith! Thank you for the gift of your priesthood!
    God’s Blessings, Love & Grace, Marianne

    Comment by Anonymous | September 15, 2012 | Reply

  3. Thanks Fr. George, we are grateful and thankful…for your words that enrich our lives, touch our hearts, and deepen our faith! Thank you always for the gift of your priesthood, tending His flock for 68 years!!!
    God’s Blessings, Love & Grace, Marianne

    Comment by mcs | September 15, 2012 | Reply

  4. YOUR PENSION WILL BE GREAT IN HEAVEN FOR YOUR 68 YEARS.GOD BLESS.

    Comment by GEORGE LUX | September 16, 2012 | Reply

  5. I met you once at Midway Airport five years ago. I was making a connecting flight. Mass in the airport chapel was announced over the intercom to take place in 15 mins. You made a big impression on me that one time. I have enjoyed re-reading one of your 3 minute homily books. Your references to Paris mean more since I went to Paris this year. God Bless you Father!

    Comment by Lu Quinn | September 17, 2012 | Reply

  6. Just found ur blog after reading about it in Catholic New World ( under church clips) Ty! It’s just what I needed to read at this moment!

    Comment by Mary Jo pav | September 19, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

