God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Waiting On The Lord


Yes, at 93 years old, I live anticipating the Coming of the Lord.  My active life in the Priesthood kept me going until 92 years of age.  At that age, my vision failed.  No more driving.  With low energy level, a walker helps me to move about.

I live here in my Priests’ Retirement Residences with 14 other priests – the oldest one here.  We celebrate Mass together at 8:00 o’clock in our house chapel.

At times, friends ask . . . “Aren’t you sad when you realize what a short time you have to live?”  Honestly, No!  On the contrary, I ask the Lord to take me in death on this day at hand.  I accept whatever is to be.  60 years ago, I once heard a Chicago Bishop say in his talk at Confirmation Services . . . “When we close our eyes in death, we will experience an unbelievable adventure, one beyond any words can describe.”  I am looking forward to that day.

One story has helped me greatly on my outlook of death.  In November, 1969, I was stationed at Incarnation Parish in Palos Heights.  One Sunday morning, after Mass, a 12 year old boy, George Kohler by name, spoke to me, “Father, I want to be an altar boy.”  I reminded him of all the sacrifices he would have to make, especially his sleep.  In the coming winter, he would have to come for the 6:30 Mass.  Nothing I said deterred him from his desire to serve at the altar of God.

The next day, a car struck George on his bicycle on Ridgeland Road near 127th street, killing him instantly!  At the full church on George’s funeral day, I could only say a few words such as, “What a glorious welcome George received in Heaven!”

I always said to myself . . . “I would like to do something glorious for God shortly before death.  For me, it will have to be each day lived for His Honor and Glory!”

The Lord has given me this time of priestly inactivity to make ready for His Coming!  I make three Holy Hours each day in our little chapel with its seating for eighteen men.  I keep telling myself that Jesus of Nazareth in the Tabernacle is the same Lord of the New Testament.  What a wonderful privilege to have This Blessing in my last days on earth!

In retrospect, my 27 pilgrimages to Jerusalem give me much consolation at this stage in my life.  Many people said . . . “Why so often?  Wouldn’t once be enough?”  On each trip, I found new help in seeking the Face of Christ.  Maybe our Lord will have mercy on me and my sins.  In my daily prayers in our chapel, I still keep saying to myself . . . “This is Jesus of Nazareth, still loved after 2,000 years!”  No human being ever reached this level of honor!

I have no sickness, just aches and pains of age (really not many).  No need to pity me.  Just wish me ‘Bon Voyage’ on the upcoming final trip into the hereafter.

My Blog – God Is Good will continue after my death.  We have many bulletins from the past not published!

Fr. George Mc Kenna

September 1, 2012 - Posted by | Bulletins

5 Comments »

  1. “God is not unjust; he will not forget your work and the love you have shown him by your service, past and present, to his holy people.” Thank you Fr. George for your service. God bless you. Pam

    Comment by Pam Gervais | September 1, 2012 | Reply

  2. Incredible faith-filled words Fr. George, as always! Just finished reading,..and I confess with tears in my eyes at this moment…as your words always reach deep into heart and soul, for that is how your write about Him. The Final Flight will be an incredible journey…no ticket required….on His Perfect Schedule He will call us …you have served Him and guided His Flock with great love & devotion…thank you Fr. George for your priesthood. Your devotion to Him and Our Blessed Mother reminds us on this earthly journey to keep our focus on the eternity…Homebase for “The Chief Pilot”…
    God’s Blessings, Love & Grace to you ~~~ Forever!!! Marianne

    Comment by mc simms | September 1, 2012 | Reply

  3. Oh my goodness Father! You are truly a wonderful inspiration to me as well as to many others!! I sure do love you – and I always leave our vists smiling and feeling good. God has blessed me by leading me to you! I ask our Father to continue to bless you …. May Our Mother wrap you in Her mantle and hold you close!
    Love, Beth Doyle

    Comment by Beth Doyle | September 1, 2012 | Reply

  4. I love the current picture! Oh, Fr. George, how I hate to think of that day when you are no longer with us! I will miss you so much and so often wish that I met you years ago instead of just in 2008! I would have been so happy and LUCKY to have gone on a pilgrimage with you to the Holy Land. Your blog idea is SO wonderful for those that read it – my friend MaryAnn now reads it and I always ‘share’ it on Facebook to encourage others to read your wonderful words! A ‘real’ letter is coming your way this week! God Bless you and I love you so much, Father George. I am praying for you and all priests daily. What a wonderful service to humankind you have offered all of these years, and now through the blog you are reaching out to even more people. Thank you for this! Love, Nancy

    Comment by Nancy Westvang | September 2, 2012 | Reply

  5. Fr. McKenna, you continue to be a blessing to us. From your days at St. Barnabas until this day, God has blessed us all with your words of wisdom. Thank you, from the bottom of my heart.

    Martha Martin Maggiore

    Comment by Martha Martin Maggiore | September 3, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

