God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

First Year Anniversary Of My Blog


1989 – My Sister Kay and Brothers John and Frank

My Blog – God Is Good celebrated its First Anniversary this August 2012.  A thrilling year for me.  People in 76 countries of the world are using The Blog, the latest being Brazil and Cambodia.  Hopefully, they are using my simple weekly message to draw closer to God.  The Blog is spreading the Good News of the Gospels.  We call this Evangelization.  When someone views our Blog, we call this a “hit”.

The Holy Father and his Bishops are telling us Catholics to be Evangelizers.  Tell others about Christ and his ideals, they say.  I have always had a heart felt desire to do this.  After tasting the sweetness of the Lord’s Friendship, I want others to enjoy the same.

Have confidence that we can fulfill this work of being Evangelizers in many simple ways: by sharing books with others . . . give a listening ear to a troubled friend . . . photocopy my weekly bulletins for others to read.  No need to preach.

In 1976 I volunteered to serve the Alaskan Dioceses of Fairbanks and its people, Eskimos and Indians.  Some villagers on the Yukon River had only one Mass a month because of the shortage of priests.

The stories of Mother Teresa of Calcutta and Mother Angelica of EWTN fame encourage me.  Mother Teresa started a new Religious Order, the Missionaries of Charity, herself being the only member.  Now, her members work in most countries of the world with the poor.

Mother Angelica started her television and radio stations with no knowledge of either.  Today, her TV station, EWTN and global radio programs reach out to all the world with the Good News.

In 1988, at the retirement age of 70, my future looked dull.  Then, one day, while sitting in the Chicago Midway Airport, a thought came to me – how can I bring these many travelers rushing by me closer to Christ?  No religious service had ever been offered in the Airport since its opening in 1927.

I began to offer weekend Masses in 1988 in the airport.  Travelers had the chance to attend Mass and receive the Eucharist.  I did this for the next 23 years until my age of 92 forced me to retire once again.  During these 23 years at the airport, I wrote 4 books of my 3 minute homilies and also a weekly bulletin for the travelers – all pertaining to Christ and His ideals.  My 27 trips to Jerusalem gave me a plentiful supply of Bulletin material.  Every trip to the Holy Land increased my desire to tell others about Jesus of Nazareth and the beauty of His Life.

I share these life adventures with my readers, not to exalt my days, but to show what a person with ordinary talents can do for the sake of Christ.

I thank my niece Rose and her husband Joe who gave me the idea to use the internet and a blog to spread the messages of my bulletins across the world.  Joe and my dear friend Tam Cohen coordinate the workings of this Blog each week, and allow me to continue my evangelization in this modern era.

Fr. George Mc Kenna

August 18, 2012 - Posted by | Bulletins

10 Comments »

  1. Father,
    Congratulations!!! One year of spreading the Good News of Jesus through cyberspace!!! Ron and I always enjoy the inspiration you provide each week! God Bless you!

    Captain Ron and Nancy Fuccillo

    Comment by Nancy Fuccillo | August 18, 2012 | Reply

  2. Congratulations Father! I have always enjoyed your bulletins and for the past year your emailed ones, as well as your books. I believe they even helped convert a friend of ours to Catholicism. It has always been very enjoyable to hear of your experiences and your words of wisdom have been very uplifting and encouraging. God Bless.

    Karen Reichert

    Comment by Anonymous | August 18, 2012 | Reply

  3. Father McKenna, You are an inspiration and may God continue to bless your work in evangelism . Congratulations! Bob and Fran Anderson .

    Comment by Anonymous | August 18, 2012 | Reply

  4. God bless you a thousand times over, my faithful and best ever confessor at Quigley– 1953-1958. You are in my daily prayers forever!

    Comment by Joseeph C. Owens | August 18, 2012 | Reply

  5. Your work for “The Chief Pilot” brings heaven to earth! Thank you forever for all you do for Him for us, His sheep! God Bless you forever Fr. George. Your faith-filled books, bulletins & blogs draw us closer to His Loving Presence! We cannot even begin to thank you enough for leading us Home to Him through the gift of your priesthood…Blessings & Love, Marianne

    Comment by mc simms | August 18, 2012 | Reply

  6. Hi Fr. George! Congratulations on your one year anniversary of this wonderful technology to get the word out about Jesus! Your writings are beautiful and inspirational to all who read them. What a lovely posting above that outlines your many accomplishments. You really have led a beautiful life and have touched hundreds of thousands in your many deeds. I am SO blessed to have heard that announcement that day in May, 2008, that Catholic Mass was starting at 4:00 o’clock in the Midway Airport Chapel – and you were there to offer Mass. That began our friendship and for me, great spiritual growth. God Bless YOU!! Love you much, Nancy

    Comment by Nancy Westvang | August 19, 2012 | Reply

  7. Congratulations on your 1st year anniversary. May continue to bless you with inspiration and peace. I met your cousin Claire—she has shared with me your homilies and I’ve enjoyed reading them and now your blog is wonderful. Thank you Pam

    Comment by Pam Gervais | August 19, 2012 | Reply

  8. Thank you Father George! Keep at it you still have lots to say. Thanks also to your helpers who provide you help and encouragement. Dan

    Comment by Dan Tucker | August 19, 2012 | Reply

  9. Father George,

    So pleased to learn of your inspiring blog. Thank you so much–you just never stop giving! So blessed to walk in your footsteps in the Holy Land. Thank you for “blazing” the trail.

    Hoping to meet up with you in the “New Jerusalem”.

    Love and prayers,
    Kathleen, Arizona

    Comment by Kathleen | August 25, 2012 | Reply

  10. Congrats on your 1st year anniversary! Looking forward to many more of your Blogs. Thank you Fr. McKenna! Thank you!

    Comment by Lynne Donegan | August 30, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

