God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

A Sacred Heart of Jesus


In my time in the Major Seminary at Mundelein, Illinois, a six-year stretch, we seminarians made the first Friday of each month a Day of Recollection in honor of the Sacred Heart.  A blanket of stillness and peace fell over the campus as we students observed silence through the day until suppertime at 6:00pm.

A Holy Hour in the Main Chapel finished off the Day of Prayer in honor of the Sacred Heart.  At this last service, our Rector, Monsignor Hillenbrand, spoke of the attractiveness of the Person of Christ, His appealing qualities of kindness, gentleness and love.  As the years went by the story of the Sacred Heart – His pleading for the love of His people – captured the hearts of all of us men.

I found the evening hours in my room the most difficult of the day.  Every night of the school year, I had to be in my room at 7:15pm and with no newspapers, radios or magazines allowed.  We broke silence at breakfast the next morning.  My little image of the Sacred Heart on my desk saved me from despair and the temptation to give up my efforts to be a priest.  Every night, I poured out my heart to the Gentle Christ looking at me with sympathy and understanding.  Peace always came to me.

On Ordination Day, I consecrated my priesthood to the Sacred Heart.  Since then, I have stood before hundreds of His statues and images to repeat those words of Consecration: “I trust in you and I do everything for reparation to You, for my sins and the sins of the whole world; I believe in Your love for me.”  My chalice has a three-inch statuette of the Sacred Heart at the base of the stem.  As I elevate the chalice at my daily Mass, my eyes rest on this Image of the One to Whom I have given my priesthood.  This reminds me of my Consecration to the Sacred Heart.  The Heart stands for the Whole Person.

I was stationed for eleven years in the Parish of St. Margaret Mary, the messenger of the Sacred Heart.  Was this a coincidence or was it a sign from the Lord that He was listening to my pleas for help to be patient, kind, forgiving and loving toward us all?  Here we have a God Who pleads for our love and trust, and sad to say, oftentimes, He receives coldness and indifference from His people.

Set up an image of the Sacred Heart in your home.

Fr. George Mc Kenna

June 9, 2012 - Posted by | Bulletins

5 Comments »

  1. Another great devotee of the Sacred Heart of Jesus was Sister Stanislaus of De LaSalle Hall at Maryville Academy in the ’40s. She kept us all atoned to the Sacred Heart and she was truly a saint and a wonderful surrogate mother to all of us whom she cared for.

    Comment by Brian J. Halpin | June 9, 2012 | Reply

  2. I have a large picture of the Sacred Heart given to me by my mom and dad. They received this gift on their wedding day in 1937. I treasure it. Thank you for telling your story of what the Sacred Heart has meant to you all of these years.

    Comment by Rita Kappel | June 9, 2012 | Reply

  3. Hi Fr. George! Again, a beautiful piece of writing from a beautiful human being! It seems that you were meant to be a priest but to also be a writer to extend your knowledge and interpretations to lay people in such a way that we are just driven to seek out Jesus more and more. Every morning I say the prayer to the Sacred Heart of Jesus that Saint Margaret Mary urges us to say in our devotions to the Sacred Heart of Jesus. In fact, I just finished saying it and then opened this posting. Coincidence? You are a wonderful person and priest, Fr. George. I am so blessed to have met you and I am praying for you. I know that God was looking out for me when he had me in the airport that Saturday in May, 2008 when I heard the announcement that Catholic mass was beginning at 4:00 o’clock and you were there to say the mass. My life is so enriched and much more holy since meeting you. GOD BLESS YOU!!
    Love,
    Nancy

    Comment by Nancy Westvang | June 10, 2012 | Reply

  4. Thank you father McKenna for establishing this parish, God is good. I see Brian Halprin and Helen O’Connor thru their comments and it warms my heart to be connected to Maryville through you .
    Phillip Racette

    Comment by Phillip Racette | July 11, 2012 | Reply

  5. Beautiful .Your life is a tribute I Thankyou FatherMckenna.What a honor to read your life story.

    Comment by Linda Driggers | May 26, 2015 | Reply


Leave a Reply

