God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Try God


My Ordination Mass
May 6, 1944

Today I celebrate my Anniversary in the Priesthood of the Lord.  I was ordained in 1944.  Over the years I have found it enlightening to look back over these 68 years to see if I went through certain patterns of action.  My discovery might help my readers. Periodically, in years gone by, I fell into dark moods in which my work would appear fruitless, at times almost impossible to carry out.  I despaired of being an effective instrument for the Lord.

On looking into these times of negative thinking, I realized that I had been placing the emphasis for success on my personal powers.  God with His Might and Glory had been relegated to the sidelines.  In these times of darkness, a burst of inspiration would tell me to position God – the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit – at the center of my operations.

When I did this, a dramatic change would take place in my work.  These Three Persons brought grace, light and fruitfulness into my daily work.  I didn’t see any more success, but a cloud lifted from me.  A spirit of joy filled my heart as my whole being delighted in doing God’s work as a priest.

Over the years, my trouble lay in the fact that I would forget this truth as time went on.  I spent sleepless nights worrying about the work of saving souls.  Then the realization would come again that I was trying to accomplish God’s work with my own meager resources, forgetting God, the Giver of good gifts.  O yes, through all these experiences I always believed in God and His Presence, but, somehow, He was left out of the happenings of the day.  I was too wrapped up in my own little world.

Cycles of pessimism and despondency took place through the years, exacting a toll on my spirit of cheerfulness and joy which should be the trademark of a priest.  At this late age, probably the most peaceful of my life, I know the truth:  God will give fulfillment to those conscious of His Willingness to be a Co-worker and help in the ventures at hand.

Does the reader find much despair and gloom in life?  Most likely, God (the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit) with all His Promises of friendship has not been taken at His Word.  How does one, no matter what vocation in life, bring God into daily activities?  Tell Him every morning, “I can do nothing without Your Help!  My abilities and talents come to nothing if You do not stand next to me.”

A profound peace, happiness and delight will come into the life of the one who does this.  Laughter and a spirit of hope claim the heart.  Try God!  Dio Basta!  God is Enough!

Fr. George Mc Kenna

May 6, 2012 - Posted by | Bulletins

5 Comments »

  1. Congratulations on the anniversary of your Ordination into the Priesthood in 1944, Fr. McKenna. May Jesus continue to hold you in his loving arms now and into eternity. Peace.

    Comment by Rita Kappel | May 6, 2012 | Reply

  2. congratulations on your anniversery fr.when you were ordained ,i was a altar server at poor clare chapel right across the street from my house on 52nd & laflin street.i had a bleesing to get right start with god.and when i went to korea the nuns prayed for me.& here i am at soon to be 82 years old.you & i can celebrate for this.

    Comment by GEORGE LUX | May 6, 2012 | Reply

  3. […] Try God (fathermckenna.wordpress.com) […]

    Pingback by God is absolute Truth « bummyla | May 6, 2012 | Reply

  4. Father McKenna, congratulations and happy wishes on the 68th anniversary of your ordination. Thank you so much for sharing the difficult times, the times of disappointment and times of doubt … and then sharing how to overcome them by really believing and trusting in God. It isn’t always easy but you show us that it will work if we just let go and let God!

    Comment by Steve Molidor | May 6, 2012 | Reply

  5. Yes, Fr. George, I believe that if we just try to remember who really is in control, we’d have much less worry and anxiety in this world. I have a little prayer card – I don’t even remember where I got it. On the one side is a wonderful picture of Pope John Paul II and on the reverse is his prayer that starts with “Jesus, I trust in You,”. I have it where I get ready for work and read it every day and try to live it, that can be the more difficult thing, to really immerse myself in the thought and live it. But I am trying.

    Belated congratulations on your 68 years in the Priesthood!! How many lives you must have touched throughout all of these years!! You are a blessing to us all. May God richly bless you and keep you in his loving arms forever. Mary, Queen of the Clergy, pray for them!

    Love,
    Nancy

    Comment by Nancy Westvang | June 10, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

