God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Called To Be Healers


Saint Louis, Missouri, United States

Christ Healing the blind

One day, in the Paris Subway, the Metro, I witnessed a perfect example of a healing.  At the height of the rush hour, a woman in front of me lost all her oranges from a broken bag.  “Voila!” (Oh just see), she cried in dismay as she saw the fruit rolling in every direction among the feet of the commuters.  Wonder to behold, in their rush, people stopped to pick up the oranges and brought them back to the distraught woman.  At the sight of all the fruit once again in her arms, she burst out with cries of joy, “Merci, merci!” (Thanks, thanks!).  A true healing had taken place.  All the parts came back to form a wholeness.  A splintered heart was renewed!

Little did the kind commuters realize the healing they had brought about by their simple actions.  I picked up one of the oranges.  Be aware of the powers we have to give peace and comfort to our suffering sisters and brothers.  In the Gospels, every page tells of a healing action of the Young Preacher from Nazareth.

I used to envy the medical people for their ability to effect healing in their sick patients.  As time went on, I saw myself as a healer, equipped to bring a wonderful wholeness into the lives of people I meet every day.  A cheerful word to a depressed person can chase the darkness from his mind.  For one grieving for a deceased loved one, I can offer a hug and an expression of sympathy.  My ever-present spirit of forgiveness gives other human beings new hope for the future, as in their weaknesses they cause me pain.  In the words above I speak for everyone!

In our efforts to be healers, we imitate the Master, Jesus of Nazareth, the Divine Healer.  What comfort a parent gives to a sobbing child hurt by the cruelties of schoolmates with a hug and a kiss!  The expression “I love you” works miracles in hearts of troubled by low self-esteem.  Even such a small happening as a smile from someone serving me food, a waitress or a flight attendant, raised my low spirits and made me want to go on living.

Each day, set out on the journey of healing as the Master did in His time on earth.  Be interested in all peoples coming across our path as Jesus was!  A well-timed letter, a loving phone call, a short visit to a sick bed – all these can effect a marvelous healing in the lives of people about us.  Nothing will give our own hearts so much peace and consolation as our efforts to be healers!

A friend says, “I’m sick.”  Take the hands of that person.  “We will pray now!

Fr. George Mc Kenna

Enhanced by Zemanta

April 21, 2012 - Posted by | Bulletins

2 Comments »

  1. Hi Father McKenna…I always love reading your bulletins! I hope this finds you happy and in good health! Take care. love,Rita Parsons and Jackie Mitchell

    Comment by Rita Parsons | April 21, 2012 | Reply

  2. […] Called To Be Healers (fathermckenna.wordpress.com) […]

    Pingback by Struggle with Contentment… « A Robin Hood's Musing | April 22, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

