God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Take A Chance


Looking across the Jezreel Valley to Mount Tabor

Mount Tabor

Once when I was driving up the side of majestic Mount Tabor in the Holy Land, the site of the Transfiguration of Jesus, I saw some young people preparing to free glide from its dizzying heights.  Compare its height to the Willis Tower in downtown Chicago, some 1000 feet high.  Strapping canvas wings to their arms, these adventurers left the security of the mountain ledge and launched out into space.  Their willingness to take a risk gave them this marvelous experience of free gliding over the valley in silence.  What an exciting view of the countryside these courageous people had!

In our own personal living, we could do something similar to the above.  We can take a chance in launching out and letting go of a certain security we might now have.  Perhaps at this time, we feel we must have complete charge of all happenings that come our way.  Instinctively, out of fear, we demand that we be in absolute control of all aspects of our life, even those of our children and other family members.

Always holding our breath in anticipation of some unwanted happening taking place, we never feel relaxed or at ease.  Take a risk!  Launch out on the wings of trust.  Give complete control of our life to Christ!  Believe in His Love wholeheartedly!

My life belongs to You”, we say to the Lord.  “The circumstances of my death I leave to You.  If I fall flat on my face today in failure, humiliations, I accept them cheerfully.  I accept patiently the weaknesses I see in my family and allow the children over 18 to make their personal choices.”

In the early morning hours of the morning, open our arms wide to God and say, “Today is Yours!  I give control of my life to You!”  Renew this offering when we notice a dark spirit of desperation coming upon us.  Let go of life and let God take over.  We will experience rewards beyond our dreams.

At the seashore, when Jesus called His first Apostles, they left the security of their fishermen’s work and followed This Charismatic Leader!  It was a big risk because they had known the Master for only a short time.  What a rewarding life came to them!  I never felt so much happiness as when I carried out the above giving of myself in trust to Christ!

Fr. George Mc Kenna

Enhanced by Zemanta

February 4, 2012 - Posted by | Bulletins

8 Comments »

  1. JUST WHAT I NEEDED TO HEAR TODAY,==GEORGE LUX

    Comment by GEORGE LUX | February 4, 2012 | Reply

  2. JUST WHAT I NEEDED TO HEAR TODAY==GEORGE LUX

    Comment by GEORGE LUX | February 4, 2012 | Reply

  3. What a great post today, Fr. George! So true in so many ways. Your writing is so beautiful and always touches my heart. I do try to remember to trust in the Lord more, sometimes even saying, “Sacred Heart of Jesus, I place my trust in Thee.” (I said that when I was in a ski lift car heading up a mountainside in Greece – as I am VERY afraid of heights – once I said it, I actually relaxed and ENJOYED the view!!) But, as humans, we do often forget this great gift of ours and take on all the world’s troubles as our own! You hit the nail on the head when you said above how we try to take control of everything.. that is me to a T.! Good reminder for today and always! May God Bless YOU, Fr. George!

    Love,
    Nancy

    Comment by Nancy | February 4, 2012 | Reply

  4. NOBILTY IS WHEN SOMEONE WHO IS GIFTED FROM GOD SHOWS GRATITUDE BY HELPING THOSE WHO ARE LESS FORTUNATE.===GEORGE LUX

    Comment by GEORGE LUX | February 4, 2012 | Reply

  5. LAST SUNDAY A PARTY WAS SHONE FOR FR.DOVICKS 85TH BIRTHDAY.WE THANKK GOD FOR HIM AND FOR YOU FR. GEORGE FOR SHOWING US THE WAY.==GEORGE LUX

    Comment by GEORGE LUX | February 4, 2012 | Reply

  6. You taught me geometry at Quigley in 1949-50. I made up the wording on the theorems and you still gave me an A. I became a Naval Aviator and retired from TWA as an International Captain. Last July I went to Israel and protested the Settlements and met with Elias Chacour. I helped some Bedouin kids build the framework for their tent. It was bulldozed 2 days later. Am trying to get President Obama to meet with Archbishop Doctor Chacour.

    Comment by George E. Bedingfield | February 4, 2012 | Reply

  7. Your “Take A Chance” message about Mount Tabor brought back wonderful memories of our trip to the Holy Land . . . When we arrived there and saw the treacherous road up to the top we were a little stunned . . . but filled with the pure joy of being in this Holy Land, a bunch of us just squeezed into the back seat of an old cab and happily took “A chance” . . . . Up we went . . .seemingly miraculously hanging on to Mt Tabor until arriving at the spectacular top!
    What a blessing to visit the Holy Land! What a blessing to know you and your caring guidance!

    Wherever you are . . . You make things better, brighter and happier . . . and as always, through Christ Our dear Lord . . .

    Mary Lou

    Comment by Mary Lou Wingert | February 5, 2012 | Reply

  8. PRAYER & FASTING IS NEEDED AGAIN PER CARDINAL GEORGE==DURING 2ND WORLD WAR PEOPLE FLOCKED TO CHURCH..COULD IT BE ANY WORSE THAN NOW? TIME FOR HOLY HOURS IN GROUPS. GEORGE LUX

    Comment by GEORGE LUX | February 11, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

