God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

How Is Life Treating You, Jesus Asks


St Germaine Church

The Risen Lord, at the seashore, helping the sad Apostles to bring in a great catch of fish, reminds me of an adventure in my life.  Nearly 28 years ago, I found myself in Paris, France, much in the same spirit of the Apostles: bewildered, despondent and not in the best of health.  My assignment to a Parish had ended on a sour note, because of many unpleasant circumstances.

Every night in the Chapel of the Foyer Sacerdotal in Paris, a residence for priests passing through the City, I sat in the semi-darkness, bitterly disappointed with life and downhearted.  My health had turned shaky from all the tension of confrontations with people and the Bishop.  There, in the evenings, I saw the Lord standing, as He did on the seashore after the resurrection.  “It is the Lord”, I said to myself.  The Gentle Christ broke the ice with His question of concern, “How is it going, George?”

I told the Risen Lord about the three “H”s I needed badly . . . Home. . . Hope. . . Health.  The darkness in my mind slowly went away.  Back in Chicago, I came to a little Parish down the street from Midway Airport, Our Lady of the Snows.  The Rectory consisted of two bungalows, one from me and one for the Pastor. . . I was to live in a real Home, not an institutional building.  In this neighborhood of peace, the kindness of my fellow priests and the love of the people brought into my life a fresh surge of Hope for the future and a new delight to be alive!  Soon, my frequent walks around the Airport and the neighborhood were taking me six and seven miles.  And with this exercise came good physical Health!

At the seashore, the once gloomy Apostles hauled in 157 large fish at the direction of the Risen Christ.  What a display of generosity the Lord showed to raise up the spirits of his followers!  In the same way, He picked me up far beyond my dreams!

“How is it going?”, Jesus says to each one of us as we try to cope with the trials of living.  In faith, we cry out, “It is the Lord!”  “Are you succeeding in life?”, he calls out to us.  Perhaps, many readers have labored long and hard, but peace of heart, happiness and success in living elude them!  As He did to the Apostles on the seashore, the Lord will give directions for making dreams come true.  Spell out exactly what one desires as I did!

At that visit to the Lake of Galilee, the Master changed Peter’s life by making him the First Pope!  He can change our lives too, by giving us a brighter outlook on life, a more cheerful acceptance of crosses, and a new delight in prayer.  We need to recognize Him as the Risen Lord and listen for His words!  

Fr. George Mc Kenna

Today’s Picture – St. Germaine Church, one of the oldest Churches in Paris.  Still used for worship.  Situated on the busy Boulevard St. Germaine

Enhanced by Zemanta

January 21, 2012 - Posted by | Bulletins

3 Comments »

  1. Sure enjoy sharing your life experiences, Father thru your book and your website. You write like a long lost friend. I once lived near Midway Airport, was Munincipal then. So I relate in a special way. I am a female cousin of Steve Culen and Tom Tribiroha who put me in touch w/ your book.

    Comment by Mary Kovac | January 22, 2012 | Reply

  2. Father,Thanks for your ministry. the power of the Lord is with you!
    I was only at Quigley Seminary for my freshman year and I fondly remember you as my teacher.
    Please pray for me and my wife as we have many medical issues and surgeries. We also offer up prayers for you and the ministry you undertake thru your life.
    Paul Krueger (1958 freshman Quigley Sem)

    Comment by Paul Krueger | January 23, 2012 | Reply

  3. Hi to you, dear Fr. George!! I am so happy to read this beautiful posting!! Your writing is so heartfelt and genuine! I had some despondency just last week when I was trying to get back home from Chicago to Seattle and ended up stuck in Sacramento, CA due to the bad snow in Seattle. So I was feeling lonely and sorry for myself in the hotel room, but then I thought of my friends up in WA without power and felt thankful for the power and warm hotel room, even though I was so far from home. There really is no place like home! I had a nice visit with my mom – I will write and tell you about it. I am praying for you often, my friend, and hope that you are feeling good! I miss you!

    Comment by Nancy | January 23, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

