God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Prayer Means Power


The Saint of Charity

St Vincent De Paul

Like most people, I have had many wonder-filled times in my long life.  The ones I treasure the most center around prayer periods I spent in great Churches and sometimes in humble ones around the world.  I remember spending a night at Holy Cross Mission, on the wild Yukon River in Alaska.  A low flying fog had forced my pilot, Father Mike Kaniecki, S.J., and me to stop for the sake of safety in this Athabascan Indian Mission.

After a supper of moose burger and hot tea, I sat in the Mission Chapel for a quiet hour of prayer.  Although far from home and family, in October 1976, I relished that time as one of the highlights of my life.  With the heat turned up, I was able to share my hopes and thoughts with Christ in the Blessed Sacrament.  What a priceless gift I thought, to be able to communicate with the Lord of the Gospels and to listen to His Voice in return, here in Alaska.

After the gift of life, the best blessing is our ability to pray.  Just think every prayer is answered!  Understand what this means! If God does not give what we ask for, a better gift will come our way.  How often in the past two years I have asked for good health, but it was not forthcoming.  However I felt many good things happening: a sense of indifference to whatever would take place, a feeling of acceptance of things to come!  I am certain God heard my cry for help because of a great calmness in my spirit.

How helpful for us, through the day now and then, to call a halt to our activities and raise our minds to God, the Father, the Son, the Holy Spirit, or to Mary and the Saints.  These minute breaks, especially if we feel low in spirits, can bring a new energy into our days.  My favorite short cry – Jesus of Nazareth”, has picked up my failing strength a 1,000 times over!

Why walk alone?  By prayer, we bring the Power and Glory of God into our lives.  We then face the struggles of life with God’s resources giving us a wonderful stamina.  In my own spiritual life, I rejoice in the gift of prayer because I come to know more closely the most compelling Person in the history of time, Jesus of Nazareth.

At my late stage of life, I oftentimes sit in Chapels, in Churches, without saying a word.  “Speak, Lord, Your servant is listening.”  Prayer is a dialogue.  I wait for the Lord’s message to me.  What an exciting adventure prayer can be! 

Fr. George Mc Kenna

Enhanced by Zemanta

December 31, 2011 - Posted by | Bulletins

2 Comments »

  1. Thank you Father George . . .Such a beautiful glance back to Alaska . . . Your heart has a treasury of

    meaningful memories . . . we love every shared one and look forward to 2012 and sharing more. . . .

    Bless your dear heart,

    Mary Lou Wingert

    P.S. Moose burgers and hot tea in Alaska . . . Love it.

    Comment by Mary Lou Wingert | January 1, 2012 | Reply

  2. Fr. George
    I spent an hour today with Warren McCarthy, retired pastor, Seminary professor,and great storyteller
    (Equal to you on the sermons and stories)
    He does not use e mail. But you are one of his heroes, just as you are one of mine.
    I love your way of bringing Jesus into everyday activities
    We both Warren and I recently had our life stories put on an hour’s CD. A trained volunteer makes two visits to your home or neutral place and tapes your telling of your milestones or other stories for your safe-keeping or sharing copies with friends and family. The cost is $50
    Contact Maura Rogan, North Shore Senior Center @ mrogan@nssc.org if you want to see how to bring this great program to the south side
    Keep sinking those baskets from 3-point range, Fr George!
    Phillip

    Comment by Phillip Racette | January 22, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

