God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Everyone Suffers


c. 1632

Listen to this story I heard back in Grammar School in regard to crosses and suffering.  One day a man complained to God about his cross of suffering.  God listened and invited the man into a workshop full of crosses of all kinds and sizes.  “Take whatever cross you wish”, God said to him.  All through the day the man tried on cross after cross.  Some were too heavy, others too long or too short.  Finally at the end of the day one seemed to be the best fitting.  With a sigh of relief, he said, “I’ll take this one.” Jesus replied, “That’s the cross you walked in with!”

The moral of the story – now a part of my life for 80 years, is that the Lord fits our shoulder to the cross He permits to come to us.  No cross will be so heavy that it will crush us to the ground without our chance to deal with it.  No one escapes suffering!  What we do with pain and discomfort of body, mind and heart determines our success in life.  No one escapes this dark side of life!

Suffering has a thousand different faces.  We have bodies magnificently made, but still destined to wear out in time.  In this life, we live with imperfect people, all touched with the weakness of original sin.  Every day we are exposed to their harmful ways of living.  However, St Paul gives us encouragement. . . “I consider that the sufferings of this present time are as nothing compared with the glory to be revealed for us!” (Romans 8:18)

Instead of shying away from suffering, seize it enthusiastically with our full grasp.  Suppose someone hands me a ball of sharp thorns, about the size of a baseball.  If I carefully take hold of it with a few fingers, the pain is intense.  However, if I grab it with my full hand gingerly, I feel little or no pain!  Accept our crosses with open arms!  Ask the Holy Spirit: “What can I learn from this suffering?”

When I awaken in the morning and feel a pain I never had before, I cry out, “Welcome to our family! Come and sit at my table!  I accept, I accept!”  This attitude of acceptance helps greatly to deal with the cross of suffering in a positive way.  Think of Jesus of Calvary!  I don’t lose my cheerfulness of heart or my appreciation of life.  Of course, I turn to Our Lord as my refuge and Savior in these times of darkness.

Fr. George Mc Kenna

Enhanced by Zemanta

November 5, 2011 - Posted by | Bulletins

3 Comments »

  1. Thanks again another great story!

    Comment by dtucker1951 | November 5, 2011 | Reply

  2. Fr McKenna,
    such a joy to see you today at lunch! Thank you for making our time so wonderful with memories of our Holy Land Visit and just plain, good laughter! I am so glad you finally were able to meet my mom in person. She was so glad to meet you as well!
    Firt time to your blog, but won’t be the last! You still have that great ability to say so much in a short amount of time and also in such a normal, everyday manner but it really hits home.
    May God continue to bless you… see you soon, Cindy

    Comment by Cindy | November 5, 2011 | Reply

  3. A happy sunny good morning to you Father George . . . Since my brothers and i grew up across the street

    from the old Poor Clare’s Monastery, previously on Laflin Street in Chicago, we were blessed to know about

    Jesus from very little on . . . Finding the Light of Christ in those days simply meant running across the street

    and has probably made it easier for us to continue to keep much “darkness” at bay . . .We’re more grateful for

    the Lord’s dear light each day . . .Your good news letter this week , as always, “Hit the Spot”. Will continue to

    share it with your fans here in Mt. Prospect.

    Peace, blessings, love, sunshine, and chocolate donuts!

    Mary Lou

    Comment by Mary Lou Wingert | January 10, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

