God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Focus on Jesus of Nazareth


Our pilgrimage group of 19, join in making the Way of the Cross on Friday at 3PM

Over the years I have traveled to the Holy Land many times, never as a tour director, but always as a long pilgrim or with one or two friends.  People have often questions why I have taken this 14 hour flight to a land filled with dissension and violence.  My answer has stayed the same through the years; I want to know as much as I can about this Jesus of Nazareth.  No one has had the impact on world history and individual people that Christ has had.

When I die I will have sacrificed much to walk in the footsteps of the Master in Palestine.  His teachings have made up the basis of my actions in living, although many times I did not succeed in being the loving person Christ was.  At times like these, the Voice of the Lord would come clearly to me, “Don’t give up.  Start again and offer Me your failures.”

What I enjoyed most in the Holy Land in Jerusalem took the form of walking to a place sacred to the memory of the Lord and sitting down to pray.  Holy places, like the Church of the Garden of Gethsemane, made an ideal location for dialogue with the Lord.  I have never been one for long, detailed mediations and prayers.  My words, as I walk up and down in these Chapels and Churches, sound like a child’s effort to pray; “Lord, I enjoy being here in Your Company.  Christ have mercy.  Thank you for bringing me safely to Jerusalem.”  I follow this way too, back in Chicago.

One has a price to pay if Jesus of Nazareth will take on the reality of a close Friend.  I have to give quality time in prayer to This Person, not just a few minutes each day or week.  I have always been convinced that a priest will do his best work for his people by spending a daily Holy Hour before the Blessed Sacrament in quiet prayer of adoration and praise.  This stands as my daily goal, whether I am in Chicago, or traveling in faraway places.

I try to make my prayer come from the heart, without thinking too much of the words.  Just be there, in the Presence of the Lord, sums up my motto.  On one of my trips, I sat in the Church of St. Ignatius on the Rue de Severes in Paris, a worship place of stunning beauty, with lofty, curved ceilings anda  alight shining on the Tabernacle to the side of the altar.  A young priest, young for me – he was in his forties, came and sat in prayer with his eyes closed.  He gave me a memory I will never forget – a priest at prayer before the Master!.  Through his payer, this priest will receive the riches of Christ.

Focus your thoughts on this Jesus of Nazareth.  Refuse to spin your wheels on many issues that mean nothing.

Fr. George Mc Kenna

Enhanced by Zemanta

October 1, 2011 - Posted by | Bulletins

3 Comments »

  1. A most happy Sunday morning to you Father George!
    How beautiful to read your Oct. 1 blog this morning; it takes me right back to the dear Holy Land and all the feelings of huge well-being, vigor and a continous loving spirit one receives there.
    Know you will be there in-spirit with your friend Tom and your thoughts will be blessed with so many happy memories there . . . i love the photos you have displayed and i love the photos i have from the Holy Land also . . . Also have a video of our trip that the late John Sykes from Incarnation put together for all of us . . . treasure it!
    Stay warm dear heart . . . warmer weather is forecast for the coming week and more lovely fall color . . .enjoyed lots of brilliant colored trees while driving home in your area yesterday as well as the sight of gentle ‘Little Papoose Lake’ on the roadside trail.
    Keep writing, inspireing, and sharing your dear heart, Much love and thanks,

    mary lou wingert

    P.S. Toss a blessing over the courtyard to our dear Father Phil too! Thank You!

    Comment by Mary Lou Wingert | October 2, 2011 | Reply

  2. Hi Fr. George, Finally have some time to sit and catch up on your blog! It is always a treat to read your writings and so I, from now on, will look here first before Facebook and email, etc… why not start with the best! We are enjoying a beautiful autumn day in WA – trimming trees for our elderly neighbors, and enjoying a sunny day! I will write you a letter soon and thank you for your letter, too! always brings a big smile to my day when I see a letter from you! Love you, Fr. George!
    Nancy

    Comment by Nancy Westvang | October 8, 2011 | Reply

  3. A most happy St. Nicholas Day to you dearest Fr. George . . .Loved the Chuck Colson story . . . wonder if he

    is the same Chuck Colson on the Moody Bible Institue radio programs . . .

    Trust you put your shoes out last night for St. Nicholas to fill . . .Or maybe you were working for St. Nicholas

    and passing out the blessings to all at your breakfast table this morning . . . Wouldn’t surprise me . . ..

    Our young pastor, Fr. Steve, 48, requested all our grade school kids to leave their shoes outside their class-

    room doors this morning and then he had the fun of filling them with treats! Ha! Who has more fun than us

    Catholicans!

    We are all so blessed! Keep that twinkle in your eyes and that gentle laughter on your llips . . .

    We need you, We bless you, We love you.

    Mary Lou Wingert

    Comment by Mary Lou Wingert | December 6, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

