God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

The Adventure of Seeking Christ Crucified


Jesus is Seeking Us!

2011 has come!  This summer I reached my 92nd birthday, and celebrated my 67th year in the Priesthood!  Alleluia!  Few people live into their nineties.  Some classmates of mine died 30 and 40 years ago.  I thank God for giving me these many years to serve him.

In my six years in the Major Seminary, I found life difficult with poor health, home worries, loneliness and ordinary success in studies.  These circumstances forced me to turn to prayer day after day.  I carried this habit of prayer into my Priesthood (1944).  Prayer, a turning to God, helped me to persevere through the many challenges of priestly life.  Life outside the Seminary was tougher than in it.

The most thrilling adventure of my life has been in seeking the Face of Christ Crucified.  Since 1944, I have preached about Christ and His Ideals some 18,000 times.  With the advent of Vatican II in 1963, priests began to give daily homilies on the Scripture.  I frequently ask myself why am I not a better person after all these words spoken of Christ?

No person in my life has had the appeal and attractiveness that Jesus of Nazareth has had for me.  No one can plumb the Mystery of His Life.  I have traveled to Jerusalem many times (26), to seek His Face and drink His Spirit.  I have found His Presence in the Blessed Sacrament – in our Tabernacles – the most consoling experience of my life.  How often the failures and disappointments of priestly life, and there are many, have brought me to my knees in darkened churches to ask for His help!

On December 12, 2008, Cardinal Avery Dulles, a Jesuit Priest, died at the age of 90 – possibly the most distinguished theologian of modern times.  He was the author of 24 books and wrote 750 papers on matters of theology.  A short time before his death, Cardinal Dulles wrote these words. . . “The most important thing about my career, I feel sure, is the discovery of the pearl of great price, hidden in the field, the Lord Jesus Himself.”  That sounds like my words above.

Fall 2011 gives us a rich opportunity to draw closer to the Crucified Christ.  With crucifix in hand, we can find an abundance of grace to see His Face more clearly, to follow Him more nearly and love Him more dearly.  Make this fall the best one of our lives.

Fr. George Mc Kenna

September 3, 2011 - Posted by | Bulletins

1 Comment »

  1. Beautifully written, Fr. George!! Congratulations on your 67th year in the priesthood! God has blessed us to have you here for sharing your beautiful words with us!

    Comment by Nancy Westvang | September 6, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

