God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Little Bits of Happness


Unceasingly, we ask God for the basic needs of life: good health, employment and peace in family life.  Since God is so interested in our happiness, why not consider some of the following ideas as needs to be placed before Him.  Beg the Lord to make our senses more alert to the simple joys all about us.

  • The changing colors of Autumn
  • The smell of wood fire in the neighborhood
  • The wet nose of my dog nuzzling my hand
  • The sound of voices of my loved ones
  • The joy of a good book in a warm corner of my home
  • The sound of rain and snow against my window
  • The sudden sound of thunder and flashing of lightning
  • The face of a loved one after hours of separation
  • The first cup of coffee in the morning
  • The example of another person living life to the fullest in spite of sickness

Fr. Mc Kenna on the day of his Ordination

In an original, creative way, speak to God about making ourselves filled with the wonder and splendor of life.  Just to give us a start, we might say:

Make my marriage more exciting and open to a new sense of adventure.

As a young person, growing into adulthood, help me to see in the challenges about me, opportunities to make my character strong and beautiful.

I want to be interested in poetry and see life through the eyes of a poet.

I want to appreciate more fully what the beginning of a new day means, a door slowly opening up on a time I have never lived before, a new period of my life.

I want to bring more music into my life, a song in my heart at the thought of being alive, a happiness bubbling out from within me.

Discover in ourselves untold riches that we were overlooking for many past years, the ability to reach out to others in love and bring a new desire to them to keep on living.  Every person we meet has an interesting story to tell.  Enter into their lives by listening to what they say.  Be willing to share our lives with others over a meal.  Each day can become an enthralling experience.

As a Priest for 67 years, I have had the privilege of sharing in the thousands of lives of people of all ages, in their ups and downs.  Nothing has given me more true happiness than living life with these dear souls.  Do likewise!

Fr. George Mc Kenna

August 4, 2011 - Posted by | Bulletins

4 Comments »

  1. I love this photo, alot of hard work and endurance went into that moment, and from it, abundant fruit.

    Comment by Mike | August 10, 2011 | Reply

  2. Thank you Fr. McKenna for making your bullentins available . I missed receiving them by mail. God bless you and we will pray for Joe Tucker.

    Comment by Janet | August 25, 2011 | Reply

  3. What a wonderful picture, Fr. George! What a treat to be able to read your bulletins on line and see some of your pictures. Love and good health to you!

    Comment by Nancy Westvang | August 26, 2011 | Reply

  4. Good Morning Dearest Father George . . . Thanking the sweet Lord for the colors of late autumn . . . the fragrance of a wood burning fireplace and all His generous blessings and mercies . . .
    Visiting Father Phil this morning to share mass in the chapel and bring Christmas lights, decor, music and the love of St. Raymond’s . .
    Hope to swing by and say hello to you if this fits in with your day today . . .

    “We have never stopped giving thanks for you.” Ephesians 1:16

    Comment by Mary Lou Wingert | November 26, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

