God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Lord, Where Have You Gone?


The altar of the Church of All Nations (Jerusa...

Church of All Nations

One day, in the Holy land, I came to the Church of All Nations in the Garden of Gethsemane, just outside the Walls of the Old City of Jerusalem.  I planned to offer the Mass of Agony of Christ in the Garden of Olives.  Although a semi-darkness always fills the interior of the Church because of the purple colored windoes, I had to grope my way to the sacristy due to the lack of any light.  Later, a Franciscan Brother explained that a construction crew, working on the hill towards the Old City of Jerusalem, had by chance cut a power line providing electricity to the Church.

At my Mass, on the main altar, the only light came from the candles, otherwise on looking out into the main body of the Church I saw only pitch darkness.  For the scriptures, a Japanese nun came up and read them by the light of the candles.

How fitting to experience this complete absence of light in this place of Gethsemane where Jesus lived through the darkest hours of His earthly life.  So intense were His emotions of desolation and loneliness that the blood vessels broke under His skin and resulted in a bloody sweat.  Medical people testify to the truth of such a possibility.  He crided out in heart rending pain…”Father, if it be possible let this cup of suffering pass, but not My will, but Thine be done.”

At time, the dark night of the soul visits the followers of Jesus of Nazereth.  These trying hours fill the spirits of these people with dismay, leading to a cry of puzzlement on their lips…”Lord, where have You gone?  In these spells, a conviction may creep into their hearts that the Lord has left and deserted them in their weaknesses.

During these agonizing hours, the mouth, parched like a desert sand, has no tongue to speack words of prayer.  The swiftly beating heart makes the suffering one gasp for breath.  In the Responsorial Psalm 88, in the Mass I offered that morning were the words…”Throngs almost ocercome me…”

Blessed are those who persevere in faith in Jesus of Nazareth in these torments of the dark nights of the soul.  In these testing situations, a person can prove himself/herself not just a fair weather friend of the Lord but …. A friend for all seasons…..

Fr. George Mc Kenna

May 29, 2011 - Posted by | Bulletins

1 Comment »

  1. Dear Father, Thank you for sending me the BLOG info. Now I can read more of your times in the past that inspires me so much today. I especially enjoyed to see your picture in the seminary. There is a resemblance. I am Fred Powers the pilot from ATA. I just spent 3 years IN Egypt flying vacationers throughout Europe. Fortunately the end has come and I am back home. I see the light in my 12 year old daughters eyes that its time to stay. But the longing of adventure keeps creeping up on me to leave again. I am struggling with this decision. Maybe I should just pray about it. I was wondering why there were no more of your weekly bullitens arriving to the house and worried that something happened. I was so thrilled to receive your letter with the BLOG. Thanks for thinking of me.Your words kept me flying for three years out there. and thats the honest to GOD truth. ). I need to call you .FRED

    Comment by FRED POWERS | September 22, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

