God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

The Music of My Heart


Jean Eudes (1601-1688)

John Eudes 1601-1688

When I visited Paris, I usually found lodgings with the Priests fo St. John Eudes at the Foyer Sacerdotal in the heart of the city.  A hotel-like hospice reaching to seven stories, the Foyer offers priests and religious passing through Paris a Chapel, dining services and a simple, clean room for reasonable rates.  Some 400 years agao, John Eudes founded this religious order with the goal to honor the Hearts of Jesus and Mary.

The St. John Eudes Priests use two intertwiding hearts as a sacred logo and symbol of their religious order.  They display this logo on all the floors of the Foyer Sacerdotal.  As I saw these symbols frequently, I began to think of their meaning.  Usually, the heart of a person stands for the spirit by which one lives out life.

A poet wonce wrote how people march through life differently because the drums in their hearts are beating out dissimilar music.  The heart provides music, the drum beat for the marcher in life.  I began to picture my heart as a third heart intertwined with the Hearts of Jesus and Mary.

Then, this human heart of mine, the seat of all my emotions, could beat in unison with the Hearts of Christ and His Mother.  In my imagination, I could picture the splendid emotions which charged up the beating Hearts of Jesus and Mary: joy, peace, love and tenderness.  As my heart joins itself to these two beating Hearts, it takes on their pulsating rhythm.

I find the love of God and others taking over my thoughts and actions.  The soothing music of my heart brings peace throuh my whole being.  Joy possesses my life as I realize how these Sacred Hearts have taken over the work of my poor, human heart.  Towards others, forgiveness flows out of my person because I am in the company of these loving People.  Hope reaches a level of complete trust in these two Persons whose Hearts I have linked to mine.

Anyone can experience this adventure by doing what I did above.  Draw out these three hearts and put it in a prominent place.  Prepare for glorious music!

Fr. George Mc Kenna

May 22, 2011 - Posted by | Bulletins

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

