God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Have An Attitude Of Gratitude


Fr. Thomas Nash, OSA As a young teacher at St. Rita High School, Chicago 1946

Fr. Thomas Nash, OSA
As a young teacher at St. Rita High School, Chicago 1946

Some 25 years ago, I heard a never-to-be forgotten homily given by Father Dudley Day, OSA at the Funeral Mass of Father Tom Nash, OSA.  He said, “When we ate out, at the end of the meal, Father Tom always asked the same question, ‘did the waitress receive enough gratitude?’”

As teenagers in the 1930’s Father Tom and I caddied at the Beverly Country Club, Chicago.  We caddies gave Tom, as we knew him then, the nickname, “Darbie”, a special name that stayed with him through his priesthood.  He always had a crease in his pants, a clean white shirt and his hair was combed smoothly every day.  As a caddy, Tom knew the value of a “tip”, then something like a quarter!  Most of the time we received no tip and were left with 95¢ for our 5 hours of work.  He carried this “attitude of gratitude” into his later life.

Tom went on to become a distinguished teacher in the Augustinian Order, known and loved by all for his kindness and gentleness.

Since hearing Father Day’s homily, I must honestly say that every time I have eaten out, Father Tom’s words have come back to me, “did the waitress receive enough gratuity?”  When I paid the bill, I gave her much more than the usual 15%.  I have never been short of money.  In 2014, waitresses only receive $2.30 an hour. 

One day, Jesus cured ten lepers of their loathsome disease and only one came back to thank Him.  He said, “Where are the other nine?”  Are we saying “thanks” often to Him for the many gifts He gives us?  When the rain and the storms are beating at my windows, I feel safe and secure inside.  The memory of my time in India, on a block in the slums of Calcutta, where 50,000 people live in one room habitats, with leaky tin roofs makes me feel so grateful to God for His gifts of security and safety.

If someone asked me, “What gift can I give to young people, even grammar school children on some special occasion?”, I would say, “Give them a box of thank you cards and envelopes.”  Tell them to use these cards for any gift they receive – no matter how small it is.  What a blessed attitude for these young people to carry into later life.  When I give gifts to young people, I am encouraged to continue this if I receive a word of thanks from them.  Jesus of Nazareth says the same message: “Thank me and I will increase my gifts to you!”

At the dinner table, join hands together and give thanks to God for the rich delicious food in front of us.  Thousands of children die every day due to malnutrition. 

Hold on to this motto always: “have an Attitude of Gratitude.”  Say “thanks” often every day to others and to God.  In that spirit, thank you for reading this bulletin my dear friends.

Fr. George Mc Kenna

August 9, 2014 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , ,

11 Comments »

  1. I absolutely love this!!!!

    Take Care and God Bless :-) Kenny T

    Comment by morningstoryanddilbert | August 9, 2014 | Reply

  2. Thank you Fr. McKenna, for all you have given us.

    Comment by Martha Martin Maggiore | August 9, 2014 | Reply

  3. Thank you for sharing I’m going to use this phase and share it with my friends ( Attitude of Gratitude ) I love this thanks Uncle George this is Brenda from beggars

    Comment by Brenda Harris | August 9, 2014 | Reply

  4. Thank you Father for your advice….simple and so easy to put into practice.Thank you Father for your years of gentle service and real love of our Faith. You truly bring Jesus to others!!

    Comment by Beth Doyle | August 9, 2014 | Reply

  5. Words to live by, Thank You!! with love Deb

    Comment by Anonymous | August 9, 2014 | Reply

  6. Reblogged this on Morning Story and Dilbert.

    Comment by morningstoryanddilbert | August 9, 2014 | Reply

  7. Beautiful words from a man with a beautiful heart and deep love for God.

    Comment by photographymemoirs | August 9, 2014 | Reply

  8. Reblogged this on A Conservative Christian Man.

    Comment by Paul H. Lemmen | August 10, 2014 | Reply

  9. Reblogged this on Charlotte Gerber.

    Comment by Charlotte Gerber, Mystery Author | August 10, 2014 | Reply

  10. Thank you for sharing Father

    Comment by Fibi | August 11, 2014 | Reply

  11. Hi Fr. George! Thank you for this wonderful post and for all of the great stories that you share with us each week. You literally changed my life! I had been away from the church for many years and hearing your wonderful homily at Midway Airport Chapel struck such a chord with me – I began to say the Rosary and then you urged me to go to confession and attend mass. I have immeasurable gratitude to you for that! For saving my spiritual life, so-to-speak! And our friendship that developed from that – it is so wonderful and special! You are a true blessing from God and I and countless others are so very thankful for you and your wonderful ways of leading us closer to Our Lord!

    I too try to generously tip – the wait staff work so hard yet make so little. It really angers me that the consumer must help pay their wages due to the small wages they receive. in other countries they make a great wage and the customer is not obliged to tip – or if exceptional service, may leave a small tip (1-2 Euros). Maybe someday that will change here.

    Looking forward to the 24th, it was my mom’s birthday – I will have a birthday mass said for her. She would have been 94, God rest her soul.

    Thank you again, Fr. George for your beautiful words and encouragement for your readers to be the best people that we can be! You have been so generous with your wisdom through this blog – how lucky for us readers! Love you! Praying for you daily….Love, Nancy

    Comment by nancywest22 | August 13, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 216 other followers

