God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

We Choose Happines/Unhappiness


A Celtic Cross

A Celtic Cross

We can choose to be happy or to be discontented with life.  Too often the blame for our unhappiness goes to people and circumstances not responsible.  We can go through our days evading the issue that we ourselves are creating and causing our own unhappiness.  I can live in a swamp, with rags for clothes, with little money, be sickly and still be truly happy.  Happiness comes from within.

Why is my disposition generally troubled?  Why do I find myself attacking others?  Place the blame on myself.  I can make a deliberate choice to bring happiness and peace into my life.  Start off this way:

“I will happiness for myself.  I want it to be my possession.  I will place God and His Praise at the center of my life.  This I do with deliberate, free choice.”

Love God with an outpouring of praise and thanks in conversation with Him and in public prayer. 

Choose Happiness.

                        Fr. George Mc Kenna

February 22, 2014 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Dear Fr. George, Thank you for all your wonderful reflections. I so look forward to receiving them. May God continue to bless you and our Holy Mother and Blessed Joseph wrap their mantles of love around you. Nancy

    Comment by Anonymous | February 22, 2014 | Reply

  2. So true. The image in the mirror controls our choices, though so often we mistakenly give the control of our emotions to someone else. No one should have that power. We control our choices and we CAN and SHOULD choose to be happy.

    Comment by Anonymous | February 22, 2014 | Reply

  3. Hi Fr. George! Thank you for another wonderful post – all this month have been just wonderful! I wanted to share with you that I have given your book to a person who works at my hospital – she has been told that she has terminal colon cancer and there is no operation for her. She is a gem of a person and even though we just met the other day (I spent the day watching her job – to work with people seriously ill or terminal and their families)…. well, we just clicked and got along beautifully. She is a terrific person and a very kind and gentle soul. I know that she will enjoy your book!! I wanted to share with you how your kind words will be so uplifting and joyous for her to read over and over! YOU are such a gift to so many of us, Fr. George! Thinking of you and praying for you daily. Hope you are doing well. Love you and miss you! Love,
    Nancy

    Comment by nancywest22 | February 22, 2014 | Reply

  4. Thanks always for teaching us each day Fr. George with your words of faith & wisdom…life is a journey, remembering that God is with us on all our travels, whatever joys or sorrows may come…He will guide us safely Home!
    God’s Blessings, Love & Grace, Marianne

    Comment by mcs | February 22, 2014 | Reply

  5. LOVE THIS!   WE CAN ALWAYS HAVE JOY IN OUR HEARTS AS LONG AS WE HAVE CHRIST IN OUR HEARTS. . . . 

    MUCH LOVE,  

    mary lou wingert

    Comment by fathermkenna | February 23, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 217 other followers

