God is Good!

Seek the Lord while He may be found!

Joy ~ Peace ~ Hope ~ Love ~ Forgiveness


DoveJOY . . . Happiness of the spirit – lightheartedness.  St. Paul wrote, “Rejoice always in the Lord.  Again, I say rejoice.”  Jesus is the basis of our rejoicing.  Joy is to life what springs are to an automobile.  Joy cushions the blows and the rough times of our pilgrimage.  J-O-Y = Jesus Only You.

PEACE . . . Freedom from fear, anxiety, worry and addictions to creatures.  Jesus said, “My peace I give you.  My peace I leave you.”  After his resurrection, He greeted His friends, “Peace be with you.”  On TV, we saw people of Moscow marching in the streets, risking violent death, for the sake of freedom.  We too, can fight with the help of Christ against anything in life that threatens to take away our freedom.

HOPE . . . When I am down in spirits, disappointed with life, I think of Jesus as the Good Shepherd, a Name He gave Himself.  “I am the Good Shepherd.  I know mine and mine know Me.”  The early Christians inscribed this symbol of Christ on the walls of the catacombs in Rome.  He was portrayed as a Shepherd with a lamb draped around His neck.  In my low spirits, I am that lamb.  The Lord has picked me up and carries me because He sees my crippled condition.  This gives me hope, this trust in the Good Shepherd.

LOVE . . . Jesus said, “Love Me with your whole heart, soul, mind and strength and your neighbor as yourself.”  Treat each person we meet with this attitude: “This is the most important person in the world.”  In doing this, we will find that much love will flow out of our hearts towards all whom we meet.

FORGIVENESS . . . In the prayer, the “Our Father”, we say, “Forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us.”  Be the first to forgive and do it quickly.  Why wait for the other person to step forward first?  Holding hard, unforgiving feelings can devastate the spirit and drive out all chances of true happiness.

Just saying these five qualities of life brings a sense of comfort to my heart.  Say them often.  JOY – PEACE- HOPE – LOVE – FORGIVENESS.

Fr. George Mc Kenna

January 12, 2013 - Posted by | Bulletins | , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Thank you Fr. Geroge, your words are like candles burning brightly in the darkness…such joy & peace they bring! An incredible message for these first weeks of the new year! Hope to talk to you soon!
    God’s Blessings, Love & Grace, Marianne

    Comment by mcs | January 13, 2013 | Reply

  2. Hi Fr. George! So glad that we can stay connected with your blog like this! Thank you to those too, that are supporting your work on here, that is great that you can keep in touch with us this way. All of the above words, Forgiveness, Hope, Joy, Love, and Peace: imagine if we all practiced and lived those words every day. There are so many who hold grudges and cannot forgive past hurts, or who have given up on hope – especially the hope of allowing forgiveness in their relationships; which robs them of joy, love and peace in their lives. Like a song I know has in it: “So many hearts I find, broke like yours and mine – torn by what we’ve done and can’t undo” – But we can offer forgiveness to those that have done things to us that cannot be undone. Bless you always, Fr. George. I love you! Nancy

    Comment by nancy westvang | January 13, 2013 | Reply

  3. Thank you Father McKenna. So hard to behave when it seems no one is. I really appreciate your blog to center me :D

    Comment by Anonymous | January 14, 2013 | Reply

  4. Powerful – Treat each person we meet with this attitude: “This is the most important person in the world.” – what would it be like if I followed this each day of my life. What a wonderful thought. Don’t think of ME. Think of the person I am with! Fr. McKenna, your insight is wonderful!.

    Comment by Gerry | January 14, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 197 other followers

